AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
tmurphy80
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 1 of 6 (320 Views)

help with linetype scale

320 Views, 5 Replies
11-12-2012 01:30 PM

we like to have our lts set to 1 in both our existing base and in our development plan. the development plan is used to have our existing base and proposed base xref in. right now the drawing was saved with lts set to 60 which thats what the overall scale of the drawings are set up as for text height. i changed dev. plan lts to 1 which caused the linetypes to go solid. i have tried to detach the xref and lts to 1 and save the drawing then attach the xref. but they still show up solid. what is the best way to get my linetypes to work with lts set to 1?

*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,181
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 6 (303 Views)

Re: help with linetype scale

11-13-2012 03:47 PM in reply to: tmurphy80

tmurphy80 wrote:

we like to have our lts set to 1 in both our existing base and in our development plan. the development plan is used to have our existing base and proposed base xref in. right now the drawing was saved with lts set to 60 which thats what the overall scale of the drawings are set up as for text height. i changed dev. plan lts to 1 which caused the linetypes to go solid. i have tried to detach the xref and lts to 1 and save the drawing then attach the xref. but they still show up solid. what is the best way to get my linetypes to work with lts set to 1?


A unit of measurement of one (1) for Metric is 25.4 times smaller than Architectural units.

A unit of measurement of one (1) for Engineering is 12 times smaller than Architectural units.

If you keep the LTScale the same for each of these units of measurements, the linetypes

will all look different to each other.

 

If you do not wish to (globally) adjust the LTScale to your liking, then you will have to impose

a unique LTScale to each object. See the CHPROP command.

 

I would suggest establishing standards regarding LTScale.

We use LTS 12 for 1/4" scale drawings.

Since LTS is not linear, we use LTS 18 for 1/8" and LTS 2 for 1" scale drawings.

 

You can also look into PSLTSCALE.

 

???

 

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.
Introverts is proof that there is indeed intelligent life on this planet.
Member
tmurphy80
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 3 of 6 (297 Views)

Re: help with linetype scale

11-14-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: scot-65

my boss told me he likes to have all our drawings to use lts of 1. our existing and proposed base are xref into our development plan drawing. right now i am drawing with a lts of 1 and my annotation scale is 1"-40' but the lines are showing up solid. but if i put the lts to 40 the lines show up just fine.

*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,181
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 6 (291 Views)

Re: help with linetype scale

11-14-2012 03:49 PM in reply to: tmurphy80

I'm sorry to hear that your employer does not fully understand this editor.

For now use the CHPROP command as part of your argument that

imposing unique line type scaling to the objects is not the preferred method.

Take my word, it is a pain when combining pieces of drawings where each

piece (group) has different linetype scaling assigned. Example: One footprint

has a default linetype scaling (1.0), and it is placed next to a footprint that has

a forced linetype scaling of 4.0. Each will show the hidden line differently.

 

The only other method I forgot to mention is to create your own unique

linetypes. Look inside the file called ACAD.lin and you will see all the

different types of lines available. When setting up a new workstation,

you will have to manually install this file under each user profile. This file

is located in the Support folder of the user's app data section.

 

AutoCAD now retains the linetype definitions inside each file. If you use

a template, and the template does not get purged of the unused linetypes,

there is no need to manually install the custom linetypes file for each user.

A simple insert of the file that contains all the custom linetypes, then erase,

will load your linetypes in the currently opened drawing.

 

???

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.
Introverts is proof that there is indeed intelligent life on this planet.
Member
tmurphy80
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 5 of 6 (285 Views)

Re: help with linetype scale

11-15-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: scot-65

thank you for your help. i will show my boss to set up standards for our lts.

thanks again.

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 928
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 6 of 6 (267 Views)

Re: help with linetype scale

11-26-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: tmurphy80

Are you sure you understand what your boss is asking of you?  If he wants the LTS=1, maybe he just means that he wants the appearance to be that of LTS=1 which makes perfect sense.  I don't want a LTS other than =1 or I would use the scaled LTs which are available such as 2x or .5x.  If this is the case and you have an Xref at 60 scale you should set your drawing LTS=60.  Then all lines would "appear" to be at LTS=1 in an unscaled drawing when plotted, as they should be.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.