AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
ahawks
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-28-2006
Message 1 of 13 (406 Views)

HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

406 Views, 12 Replies
06-30-2006 08:38 AM
i am trying to change all my layer colors and when i do about half of them are black and the rest are different colors. i went under the layer manager and changed them and i made sure they all were unlock then i select them all like normall and changed it to black and now when i print i have alot of lines that are colors instead of black. anybody have any suggestions on what to do. all my layers are saying they should be black.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 08:46 AM in reply to: ahawks
Entities can have color setting independent of Layer colors,
and blocks/xrefs can have entities in them that are
different than the block 'color' too.

Selecting all and changing their color to BYLAYER is the
easy fix for most entities, for blocks and Xrefs you have to
do it the hard way be redefining or editing them
individually (or through customization).

So, does the above address your understanding of the setup,
or do you have something else going on you did not note in
your first post?

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*SD'y
Message 3 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 08:48 AM in reply to: ahawks
Along with what Dean has suggested, if you are getting colored plots and
want B&W, you may want to try a monochrome (B&W) CTB setup.

wrote in message news:5224350@discussion.autodesk.com...
i am trying to change all my layer colors and when i do about half of them
are black and the rest are different colors. i went under the layer manager
and changed them and i made sure they all were unlock then i select them all
like normall and changed it to black and now when i print i have alot of
lines that are colors instead of black. anybody have any suggestions on what
to do. all my layers are saying they should be black.
Contributor
ahawks
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-28-2006
Message 4 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 08:52 AM in reply to: ahawks
thanks for the advise but that doesent help me. i got all the files in a zip folder. and for some reason they are blocks and it wont let me explode the or anything. and about 1/2 of the drawings are still blue and some are still black. i am trying to get them all black. i have tried w/ the president of the company i am with and w/ the other guy who has been doing this alot longer he is our project manager and we stil havent figure it out. and we are needing these drawings in black so i can send them out. b/c we are not sending out drawings in color (it doesnt look to professional)
Contributor
ahawks
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-28-2006
Message 5 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 08:55 AM in reply to: ahawks
i am running AutoCAD 2007lt and i can not change it to monochrome for some reason. that option is not listed like normal on all the other AutoCAD programs like 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, and the other programs i have used.
*SD'y
Message 6 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 08:59 AM in reply to: ahawks
Well, then go find it and put it some place ACLT will find it, in a support
path. Unless I am missing something about LT.

wrote in message news:5224378@discussion.autodesk.com...
i am running AutoCAD 2007lt and i can not change it to monochrome for some
reason. that option is not listed like normal on all the other AutoCAD
programs like 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, and the other programs i have used.
*Misha Belilovskiy \(Autodesk\)
Message 7 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 10:26 AM in reply to: ahawks
Is this drawing using STBs instead of CTBs? If yes, you have two options:

1. Select all objects and change their plot style to the one that plots in
black color.
2. If you are not comfortable with working with STBs, use CONVERTPSTYLES
command to convert the drawing to CTB and use your preferred CTB file
(including monocrome.ctb).

Thanks,
Misha

wrote in message news:5224378@discussion.autodesk.com...
i am running AutoCAD 2007lt and i can not change it to monochrome for some
reason. that option is not listed like normal on all the other AutoCAD
programs like 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, and the other programs i have used.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 8 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 10:54 AM in reply to: ahawks
Get the files out of the zip folder.
Open each one, change all the colors to BYLAYER. The ones
that do not change are block definitions, you will have to
redefine each on in LT manually in each file.
Do the ssme with XREFs.
When they are all done, put back in ZIP after you plot them.

With LT, you are not going to do all of this this afternoon.
Maybe by tonight if you stay very late.

MONOCHROME.CTB is a stock item, if you don't have it you
need to reinstall LT.

IF you are using STB, and not CTB, plot style tbles, see
Misha's post on how to convert each and every file manually.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Contributor
ahawks
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-28-2006
Message 9 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 11:25 AM in reply to: ahawks
FOR SOME REASON WHEN I TYPE IN PLOT AND THE MENU COMES UP IT DOES NOT HAVE PLAT STYLE AND ALL THAT STUFF LIKE ALL THE OTHER PREVIOUS AUTOCAD PROGRAMS THAT I HAVE WORKED WITH BEFOR IN THE PAST.
Contributor
ahawks
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-28-2006
Message 10 of 13 (406 Views)

Re: HELP!!!! LAYERS WONT CHANGE COLORS

06-30-2006 11:27 AM in reply to: ahawks
THE FILE IS A STB. TYPE. I DONT HAVE THE THING INSTALL TO TURN IT INTO A CTB TYPE SETUP.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.