AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
mgricky
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 1 of 13 (432 Views)

Find and replace with multiple mtext

432 Views, 12 Replies
08-20-2008 08:19 AM
When I use find and replace to change multiple mtexts it adds a semicolon to the left on the first line and changes the justification.
*DougK
Message 2 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 08:47 AM in reply to: mgricky
part of a known problem that i cannot find a fix for.

i can only use find and replace within the mtext editor - not on multiple mtext entities. :-(

--
(email addy is bogus, do not use unless you want to spam the gov't agency that monitors spam)
Doug K
Windows XP Pro SP2
LandDesktop Companion 2008 SP2
HP Compaq dc7700p Convertible
Intel Dual Core 6400 @ 2.13GHz
4G Ram (3.5 usable), 232 GB HD
ATI Radeon X1600 256MB
Dual 19" Dell Monitors
Kensington Trackball (left-handed)
Logitech G15 Keyboard


wrote in message news:6011127@discussion.autodesk.com...
When I use find and replace to change multiple mtexts it adds a semicolon to the left on the first
line and changes the justification.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 3 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 09:52 AM in reply to: mgricky
What known problem? Can you post a DWG with this issue?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*DougK
Message 4 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 10:07 AM in reply to: mgricky
see attached.

use find/replace to change REPLACE with BEAT.

on my system (and all others here) the formatting will change if all are selected, but not if
find/replace is run within the mtext editor.

i have seen other examples change much more radically than this one.

--
(email addy is bogus, do not use unless you want to spam the gov't agency that monitors spam)
Doug K
Windows XP Pro SP2
LandDesktop Companion 2008 SP2
HP Compaq dc7700p Convertible
Intel Dual Core 6400 @ 2.13GHz
4G Ram (3.5 usable), 232 GB HD
ATI Radeon X1600 256MB
Dual 19" Dell Monitors
Kensington Trackball (left-handed)
Logitech G15 Keyboard


"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:6011239@discussion.autodesk.com...
What known problem? Can you post a DWG with this issue?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 10:58 AM in reply to: mgricky
LOL, love the humor. OK, I can replicate in your text sample, but not mine.
See attached, Find/Replace at will.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*DougK
Message 6 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 11:02 AM in reply to: mgricky
so, i guess the big question is what made the difference ?



"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:6011381@discussion.autodesk.com...
LOL, love the humor. OK, I can replicate in your text sample, but not mine.
See attached, Find/Replace at will.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Distinguished Contributor
sadkuh
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎03-04-2008
Message 7 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 11:10 AM in reply to: mgricky
Is this "issue" with certain versions only? I'm using LDD07 and I used find/replace with both drawings attached and the justification stayed the same and I didn't see anything get added other than what I specified. I did the find/replace with the whole drawing and by selecting the text and it worked fine.

On a side note, I didn't know the Mtext editor had a find/replace in it, Thank You. I have always used the regular find/replace then selected the piece of Mtext i wanted to replace words from.
*DougK
Message 8 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 11:11 AM in reply to: mgricky
got it - its the 7.2 tab, which oddly can't be deleted unless you drag it right off the screen.

removing the tabs stopped the reformat. no sure how viable a solution that is though. i have large
blocks of notes with multiple tabs.



"DougK" wrote in message news:6011362@discussion.autodesk.com...
so, i guess the big question is what made the difference ?



"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:6011381@discussion.autodesk.com...
LOL, love the humor. OK, I can replicate in your text sample, but not mine.
See attached, Find/Replace at will.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*DougK
Message 9 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 11:13 AM in reply to: mgricky
yeah, it started in 2008.

i think it has something to do with tabs that can't be deleted.

--
(email addy is bogus, do not use unless you want to spam the gov't agency that monitors spam)
Doug K
Windows XP Pro SP2
LandDesktop Companion 2008 SP2
HP Compaq dc7700p Convertible
Intel Dual Core 6400 @ 2.13GHz
4G Ram (3.5 usable), 232 GB HD
ATI Radeon X1600 256MB
Dual 19" Dell Monitors
Kensington Trackball (left-handed)
Logitech G15 Keyboard


wrote in message news:6011389@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is this "issue" with certain versions only? I'm using LDD07 and I used find/replace with both
drawings attached and the justification stayed the same and I didn't see anything get added other
than what I specified. I did the find/replace with the whole drawing and by selecting the text and
it worked fine.

On a side note, I didn't know the Mtext editor had a find/replace in it, Thank You. I have always
used the regular find/replace then selected the piece of Mtext i wanted to replace words from.
Member
mgricky
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 10 of 13 (432 Views)

Re: Find and replace with multiple mtext

08-20-2008 12:06 PM in reply to: mgricky
Attached is part of the drawing that I want to find and replace.
Replace the 2 with something else.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.