AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Valued Contributor
rwydesk500
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Message 1 of 3 (641 Views)

Field System Variable Question

641 Views, 2 Replies
06-02-2011 06:06 AM

We utilize the functionality of having many sheets within one drawing file. We use a title block consisting of an area that shows the particular sheet number "of" the total sheets.

Title_Block_Fields_001.JPG

Fig. 1

 

I am currently using the field system variable 

%<\AcVar ctab \f "%tc1">%

 to indicate the current sheet (eg. 1 in Fig. 1) and it works great!

I also want to reflect the 'total number of sheets', or the last sheet in the drawing file as well (represented as a dash in Fig. 1 - this might change throughout the development of a particular project).

 

Is there a Field System Variable to accomplish this?

 

Thank you!

Regards,

Rick Yoerger

AutoCAD Electrical 2015
Valued Contributor
rwydesk500
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Message 2 of 3 (623 Views)

Re: Field System Variable Question

06-02-2011 08:27 AM in reply to: rwydesk500

Apologies for the faint image. This one is better...

NEORSD_Bord_LowerRight.JPG

 

Figure 1

 

:smileyhappy:

Regards,

Rick Yoerger

AutoCAD Electrical 2015
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,053
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 3 of 3 (613 Views)

Re: Field System Variable Question

06-02-2011 09:26 AM in reply to: rwydesk500

I use the CTAB variable to get a field to read my tabs for the individual sheet numbers (my tabs are named 1.0 2.0 2.1 etc). For all information common across many sheets (such as project address, or total sheets), go to Drawing Properties --> Custom tab. Here you can define any custom field you desire, and give it a value (such as total number of sheets). If anything changes, here is where you make those changes. I also store my drawing files under their job numbers, so you can imagine I have a field that grabs that info too. And if your fields ever go "dumb", try making sure FIELDEVAL = 31...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!