AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 1 of 6 (620 Views)

Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

620 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2013 08:51 AM

Hi.

 

I have been having some Fatal Error issues causing my CAD to crash when either opening files, inserting X-refs, or trying to open 'Layer Properties'

 

Following the forum guidance I have cleared out the REGEDIT files, and set the 'Tools' -  'options' - 'open and save' value to '0' but the problem persists.

 

Further research suggests I should exclude Autocad.exe from DEP (Data Execution Prevention) in the advanced tab of System Properties, however when I try to do this the system says it is not allowed on my 64bit PC.

 

How do I exclude the exe file on my PC, and will this solve my problems.

 

Thanks,

 

Greg

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 6 (604 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

01-30-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: GregD07

Sounds like UAC is set at a level that prevents such changes.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 3 of 6 (598 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

01-31-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: dgorsman

 

Hello

 

I think that you have to be a Local Admin to set this ...

 

Bye, Patrice

 

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 4 of 6 (579 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-06-2013 02:20 AM in reply to: GregD07

Hi.

 

Thanks for your input.

With Windows 7 I can only control 'notifications' on the DEP. I can't actually exclude the autocad.exe from it.

Even our 'administrator' is unable to.

 

Any other ideas?

 

Greg

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (571 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-06-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: GregD07

It may help if you get the correct .NET FRAMEWORK for 2009

Wrong one will crash all day when it try to pop up the dialog box with those type of commands.

Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 6 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-13-2013 05:35 AM in reply to: Patchy

Hi all.

 

Thanks for your input.

 

I have managed to get things working by running in compatibility mode, since Windows7 has problems with Autocad 2009.

 

The way I did this was to right click on the Autocad icon, then on 'trouble shoot compatibility' and follow the steps.

 

It all works now, just a little slow to open and save files, and I've probably lost some of the extra functionality. I'm sure this is not the 'correct' thing to do, but I'd rather have it not crashing every five minutes!

 

Regards,

 

Greg

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.