AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 1 of 9 (180 Views)

Dimensioning

180 Views, 8 Replies
06-07-2012 08:19 AM

Hello All,

 

I'm still learning ACAD09, so here's my question.  I have a drawing with some intricate dimensions and I'm trying to find the best way to dimension the drawing so the part can be made correctly.  I use basic dimensions 2D modeling and use X-Y coordinates.  But this particular drawing is somewhat difficult for me to dimension.  Any tips/sites/samples will be greatly appreciated. I have attached the drawing in reference on what I don't thus far.  I'm sure there will be more questions so feel free to ask anything.

 

 

 

Thank You

KenJG
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 2 of 9 (164 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 02:43 AM in reply to: KenJG

Ken hi,

 

That because your origin drawing point (x=.000, y=.000) does not placed on autocad (wcs) origin point

all you need is to move all objects from your (x=.000, y=.000) to 0,0,0

 

Cheers,

Moshe

 

Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 3 of 9 (159 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 04:39 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Hello Moshe,

 

Thank you for your feedback.

Can you please give me an example.  I don’t fully understand, sorry.

 

 

That because your origin drawing point (x=.000, y=.000) does not placed on autocad (wcs) origin point

all you need is to move all objects from your (x=.000, y=.000) to 0,0,0

Thank You

KenJG
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,273
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 9 (149 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: KenJG

Is this what you wanted ?

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 5 of 9 (143 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: KenJG

fix it

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,273
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 9 (140 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Don't forget to turn the UCS icon "ON" to be sure it's on Plan (right now it's not)

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 7 of 9 (135 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: Patchy

yes it looks like someone used UCS but actually noting is changed

it's *NO NAME* but it near WCS

 

Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 8 of 9 (124 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-09-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Moshe-A

Hello Patchy,

 

Not quite sure what WCS is can you give me an example or some sort of pic/site/ etc to take a look at this .  I looked at help in ACAD but still don't fully understand, sorry.

 

Regards,

Ken

 

Thank you.

Thank You

KenJG
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,273
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 9 of 9 (115 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-09-2012 08:41 PM in reply to: KenJG

I know what it is but I can't explain it as good as these guys.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.