AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
g.kitchen
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 1 of 13 (646 Views)

Dimension text move

646 Views, 12 Replies
06-08-2009 02:46 PM
Upon upgrading to 2009, I have noticed a change in dimension behavior. If I manually move the dimension text and then move the dimension line, the text no longer moves with the line. It creates a leader and then must be manually moved to the proper location. I have 2008 on my computer still and get different results for the same dimension styles on the two versions. I am looking for a dimension that is not associative and the text can be moved away from the dimension lines while still creating a leader. The trick is, I also want the text to stay in the same position in relation the the dimension lines when i move the dimension. Just like in 2008 (fancy that!).
Much appreciation!
*none
Message 2 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-08-2009 03:39 PM in reply to: g.kitchen
g.kitchen wrote:
> Upon upgrading to 2009, I have noticed a change in dimension behavior.
> If I manually move the dimension text and then move the dimension line,
> the text no longer moves with the line. It creates a leader and then
> must be manually moved to the proper location. I have 2008 on my
> computer still and get different results for the same dimension styles
> on the two versions. I am looking for a dimension that is not
> associative and the text can be moved away from the dimension lines
> while still creating a leader. The trick is, I also want the text to
> stay in the same position in relation the the dimension lines when i
> move the dimension. Just like in 2008 (fancy that!). Much appreciation!
Look into DIMTMOVE in Help.
Distinguished Contributor
g.kitchen
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 3 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-08-2009 03:45 PM in reply to: g.kitchen
Tried that one, I've pretty much opened the help menu and gone through every dim command/system variable. None of them produce the 08 results.

Problem with DIMTMOVE is that it moves the dimension line when you move the text vertically. The text needs to move with the dimension line, not the dimension line move with the text.
*none
Message 4 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-08-2009 04:56 PM in reply to: g.kitchen
g.kitchen wrote:
> Tried that one, I've pretty much opened the help menu and gone through
> every dim command/system variable. None of them produce the 08 results.
> Problem with DIMTMOVE is that it moves the dimension line when you move
> the text vertically. The text needs to move with the dimension line, not
> the dimension line move with the text.
dimtmove1 is with leader; dimtmove2 is without.
Distinguished Contributor
g.kitchen
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 5 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 09:00 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
DIMTMOVE1 is what I am currently using, but doesn't move the text with the dimension line. DIMTMOVE2 doesn't give a leader, which I need to have. DIMTMOVE is not a sufficient solution. Edited by: g.kitchen on Jun 9, 2009 10:01 AM
*none
Message 6 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 09:36 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
g.kitchen wrote:
> DIMTMOVE1 is what I am currently using, but doesn't move the text with
> the dimension line. DIMTMOVE2 doesn't give a leader, which I need to
> have. DIMTMOVE is not a sufficient solution. Edited by: g.kitchen on Jun
> 9, 2009 10:01 AM
See the attached.
Distinguished Contributor
g.kitchen
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 7 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 10:07 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
I understand how it works. These are the reasons why it is not a sufficient solution
DIMTMOVE 0 - allows text to be moved and creates a leader.
Problem: When the text is moved vertically, the dimension line moves with the text. I do not want the dimension line to move unless I select the grips on the end of the dimension line and manually select it's new location.
DIMTMOVE 1 - Allows me to move the dimension line and the text separately.
Problem - The text stays in the same place when the dimension line is moved. The relationship between the manually placed text and the dimension line needs to remain when the dimension location changes.
DIMTMOVE 2 - allows text to be moved and does not create a leader.
Problem - The text stays in the same place when the dimension line is moved and a leader is not created.

Again, what I am looking for is a dimension where the text can be placed anywhere on the dwg, a leader will be created, and when I move the dimension line the text will move with it and keeps it's same location in relation the the dimension lines. DIMTMOVE does not accomplish this.
*none
Message 8 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 10:47 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
g.kitchen wrote:
> I understand how it works. These are the reasons why it is not a
> sufficient solution DIMTMOVE 0 - allows text to be moved and creates a
> leader. Problem: When the text is moved vertically, the dimension line
> moves with the text. I do not want the dimension line to move unless I
> select the grips on the end of the dimension line and manually select
> it's new location. DIMTMOVE 1 - Allows me to move the dimension line and
> the text separately. Problem - The text stays in the same place when the
> dimension line is moved. The relationship between the manually placed
> text and the dimension line needs to remain when the dimension location
> changes. DIMTMOVE 2 - allows text to be moved and does not create a
> leader. Problem - The text stays in the same place when the dimension
> line is moved and a leader is not created. Again, what I am looking for
> is a dimension where the text can be placed anywhere on the dwg, a
> leader will be created, and when I move the dimension line the text will
> move with it and keeps it's same location in relation the the dimension
> lines. DIMTMOVE does not accomplish this.
Actually it does - you're just not using it correctly.
Distinguished Contributor
g.kitchen
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 9 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 10:59 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
Great response... Can you be more specific? i.e. Which one accomplishes the desired results, how am I using it incorrectly, and what is the proper way to use this variable?
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 10 of 13 (646 Views)

Re: Dimension text move

06-09-2009 11:45 AM in reply to: g.kitchen
If you already overide the text location: move dim using the MOVE command then the text will be moved accordingly; move dim using grip then the text stays where it is. It's always like that.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.