AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 11 of 15 (124 Views)

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

How did you come up with the number 2250 ?

 

*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,164
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 12 of 15 (115 Views)

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: pmahaffy001

There are basically two methods for defining the dimension style:

 1) Assign a unique name for use on each drawing scale.

 2) Have one "Master" dimension style and apply 2 overrides when in other scales

    (use command DIM "Restore" to return to the master dimension style).

 

Now, look at your environment to determine which two switches to set.

Is the TEXTSTYLE you use for your dimensions set to a height greater than zero?

 Yes: Look at DIMSCALE and DIMTXSTY.

 No: Look at DIMSCALE and DIMTXT.

 

Command STYLE will provide the answer if the text style you use is or is not zero height.

 

THESE TWO SWITCHES IS ALL THAT IS REQUIRED TO BE CHANGED BETWEEN DRAWING SCALES!

 

Our environment uses one dimension style with the overrides, and our text styles are

assigned a fixed height greater than zero. We have one unique text height for each

drawing scale.

 

???

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.
Introverts is proof that there is indeed intelligent life on this planet.
Contributor
pmahaffy001
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 13 of 15 (108 Views)

Re: Dimension text Help

06-18-2012 05:38 AM in reply to: Patchy

If i want a text height of 1.8mm in PS at the scale 1:1250 then the text height is 2250 in model 1.8 x 1250?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 14 of 15 (100 Views)

Re: Dimension text Help

06-18-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

I've not seen it set up your way.

 

In dimstyle, the text height is equal to real text height, and the FIT tab, the Use Overall Scale of is where it is change according to paper space scale.

 

Contributor
pmahaffy001
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 15 of 15 (95 Views)

Re: Dimension text Help

06-18-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: Patchy

Well i understand what it needs to do but cant get my little software addon to do it, never mind, ill just create one text and dimension for every scale we use as a template and they can match properties.  I've tried, but alas to no avail.  i can get the utilities to bring in proper layers, additional commands etc but seem to have been defeated on the dimension style.

 

thanks eveyone for your advice.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.