AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 1 of 15

Dimension text Help

226 Views, 14 Replies
06-15-2012 06:41 AM

Hi, 

 

I am developing some menus / standards for everyone who uses acad in my office, i am almost there but am having trouble getting the dimensions to do what i want.

 

I use standard text heights of 1.8mm, 2.5mm, 3.5mm and 5.0mm depending on what i need.

 

my dimensions are either 1.8mm @ 1: xx scale or 2.5 @ 1: xx scale.

 

the drop down i have developed allows you to chose the scale your drawing at and import whatever size dim / text you need by using macros.

 

when i click to import 1.8mm_1:1250 dim option it pulls in the dimension style perfectly but the text is 2.5mm not 1.8 in the viewport.  

 

i use the following macro could someone just have a look over it to see where i am going wrong.

 

^C^CMenuecho;3;^PExpert;5;_-style;"arial";arial.ttf;;;;;;;DIMTXT;2250;DIMTXSTY;arial;DIMTOL;0;DIMLIM;0;DIMTIH;0;DIMTOH;0;DIMSE1;0;DIMSE2;0;DIMALT;0;DIMTOFL;0;DIMSAH;1;DIMTIX;0;DIMSOXD;0;DIMSD1;0;DIMSD2;0;DIMUPT;0;DIMTOLJ;1;DIMDSEP;.;DIMZIN;9;DIMJUST;0;DIMFIT;3;DIMTZIN;0;DIMALTTZ;0;DIMTAD;1;DIMUNIT;2;DIMAUNIT;0;DIMDEC;1;DIMTDEC;1;DIMALTTD;4;DIMADEC;1;DIMAZIN;0;DIMATFIT;3;DIMFRAC;0;DIMLUNIT;2;DIMTMOVE;0;DIMASZ;1.5;DIMEXO;2;DIMDLI;5;DIMEXE;2;DIMRND;0;DIMDLE;2;DIMTP;0;DIMTM;0;DIMCEN;3;DIMTSZ;0;DIMLFAC;1;DIMTVP;0;DIMTFAC;1;DIMGAP;1;DIMPOST;.;DIMBLK;.;DIMBLK1;ArchTick;DIMBLK2;ArchTick;DIMLDRBLK;_Dot;DIMCLRD;0;DIMCLRE;0;DIMCLRT;2;DIMLWD;-2;DIMLWE;-2;DIMSCALE;1250;-dimstyle;s;"1.8 1-1250 dims";expert;0;menuecho;0;^P^C^C

 

*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 2 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

How long have you used Autocad ?

 

Did you know you can use Annotative feature if you want all texts to look the same in paperspace?

Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 3 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: Patchy

i have used it a long time, but i have never really used the annotative aspects of it.  i was trying to create something for my colleagues who are relatively new to acad as they primarily use another software.  we are still at the whats an xref and where is that layer stage.  I used this method of importing text / dim styles at my previous place of work and its relatively straight forward and everyone picked it up within a few tries!

 

 

Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 4 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

I understand that, just thought there was a reason why it would not go in at that particular scale and would default to 2.5 when the macro specifically tells it otherwise!!!

*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 5 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

Attach your drawing, it's easier to see what's wrong than running your macro.

Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 6 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: Patchy

Right here is the process of getting my dimension into the drawing, which loads fine, (image file)

 

 

the typical dimension that actually imports using that macro is as the drawing attached.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 7 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

Try this

Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 8 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: Patchy

thank you for trying, i have tried this but still when i bring it n its got a text height of 2.5mm instead of 1.8mm as shown on attached

*Expert Elite*
6,431 Posts
601 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Post 9 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: pmahaffy001

style;"arial";arial.ttf;;;;;;;DIMTXT  <-<-<- Should there be a DIMTXT with value here??

 


 

 

 

Contributor
11 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Post 10 of 15

Re: Dimension text Help

06-15-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: Patchy

^C^CMenuecho;3;^PExpert;5;_-style;"arial";arial.ttf;;;;;;;DIMTXT;2250;DIMTXSTY;arial;DIMTOL;0;DIMLIM;0;DIMTIH;0;DIMTOH;0;DIMSE1;0;DIMSE2;0;DIMALT;0;DIMTOFL;0;DIMSAH;1;DIMTIX;0;DIMSOXD;0;DIMSD1;0;DIMSD2;0;DIMUPT;0;DIMTOLJ;1;DIMDSEP;.;DIMZIN;9;DIMJUST;0;DIMFIT;3;DIMTZIN;0;DIMALTTZ;0;DIMTAD;1;DIMUNIT;2;DIMAUNIT;0;DIMDEC;1;DIMTDEC;1;DIMALTTD;4;DIMADEC;1;DIMAZIN;0;DIMATFIT;3;DIMFRAC;0;DIMLUNIT;2;DIMTMOVE;0;DIMASZ;1.5;DIMEXO;2;DIMDLI;5;DIMEXE;2;DIMRND;0;DIMDLE;2;DIMTP;0;DIMTM;0;DIMCEN;3;DIMTSZ;0;DIMLFAC;1;DIMTVP;0;DIMTFAC;1;DIMGAP;1;DIMPOST;.;DIMBLK;.;DIMBLK1;ArchTick;DIMBLK2;ArchTick;DIMLDRBLK;_Dot;DIMCLRD;0;DIMCLRE;0;DIMCLRT;2;DIMLWD;-2;DIMLWE;-2;DIMSCALE;1250;-dimstyle;s;"1.81-1250dims";expert;0;menuecho;0;^P^C^C

 

is still giving me as shown on image

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!