AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Valued Contributor
Ertqwa
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 1 of 9 (885 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimension style - text position

885 Views, 8 Replies
07-30-2012 10:56 AM

Hello Forum,

 

I create a dimension style as follows:

The dimension style is architectural, above line, alligned with line.

It also has alternate units; decimal, below primary value.

 

Now if I place a horizontal dimension, all is fine. But as soon as I move the dimension text with its grip, the text drops down a bit, intersecting with the line. Also, after the move the property "Text Offset" is not used anymore.

 

How do I fix this? How can I move the dimension text without problems?

 

Thank you.

"It also has alternate units; decimal, below primary value."  From your original post, hmm??

 

After you move the text and it, " drops down a bit", select the text for editing by double clicking on it.  After the Primary unit measurement hit keyboard "enter".  This will leave a text line space between the primary and alternate units.

What you have now:

<> (Primary)

<> (Secondary

What you will have after doing the above:

<>"ENTER" (Primary)

(blank line space)

<> (Secondary)

 

I hope this clears things up.

 

 

Mentor
khoa.ho
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 2 of 9 (862 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

08-03-2012 11:43 AM in reply to: Ertqwa

This problem happens firstly with "Bellow primary value", then plus with the dimension text has fraction in Architectural unit format. AutoCAD does not locate the text correctly with those dimension settings. When we move the text, it will drop down a bit. To fix that, right click on the dimension, choose 'Dim Text position" menu, select "Move text with leader", and then try to move the text not to intersect with the line. The final text will look shorter but at least it helps to trick this AutoCAD issue.

-Khoa

Valued Contributor
Ertqwa
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 3 of 9 (834 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

08-18-2012 11:43 PM in reply to: khoa.ho

Thank you for the reply.

 

Unfortunately this does not solve the issue.

*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 9 (822 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

08-22-2012 03:29 PM in reply to: Ertqwa

Look into DIMFRAC = 2

 

???

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.
Introverts is proof that there is indeed intelligent life on this planet.
Valued Contributor
Ertqwa
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 5 of 9 (782 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

09-21-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: scot-65

Thank you for the reply.

 

Unfortunately DIMFRAC = 2 does not solve the issue.

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 6 of 9 (736 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

10-22-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: Ertqwa

This may sound a little bit cumbersome but try placing a return (keyboard - ENTER) after the first dimension.  Basically, you will be leaving a blank line of text between the primary and secondary dimensions.  Hope that helps.

Valued Contributor
Ertqwa
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 7 of 9 (714 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

10-28-2012 12:55 AM in reply to: steve216586

Hi, ty for you response.

 

I'm not sure what you mean. I only have one textoverride in properties and that overrides both. So <> keeps them together.

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 8 of 9 (700 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

10-31-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: Ertqwa

"It also has alternate units; decimal, below primary value."  From your original post, hmm??

 

After you move the text and it, " drops down a bit", select the text for editing by double clicking on it.  After the Primary unit measurement hit keyboard "enter".  This will leave a text line space between the primary and alternate units.

What you have now:

<> (Primary)

<> (Secondary

What you will have after doing the above:

<>"ENTER" (Primary)

(blank line space)

<> (Secondary)

 

I hope this clears things up.

 

 

Valued Contributor
Ertqwa
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 9 of 9 (675 Views)

Re: Dimension style - text position

11-08-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: steve216586

Hi,

 

Your suggestion didn't work at first because I typed <>\P<> but you have to type <>\P[].

 

Thank you.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!