AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MENN0
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 11 of 16 (272 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

08-07-2008 11:43 PM in reply to: *Paul
To all: He's dutch like me. If he spells devide he also might typed it that way.....A lot of peolple don't speak English as a native language........

To Paul: don't feel attacked and keep asking questions. That's what these groups are for. These groups are the best source of knowledge. I looked on some dutch sites but they´re not the best to say the least.
Also you should buy a (english) book (a 1200 pages AutoCAD bible - mastering AutoCAD etc.) and read it front to back.

Menno
*Doug Broad
Message 12 of 16 (272 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

08-08-2008 06:11 AM in reply to: *Paul
Hi Menno,
The Dutch are great but doesn't the local language feature of AutoCAD allow
him to enter the command the way he would normally spell it? If not, that
is unfortunate. Using the menu browser in 2009 should give him all the
assistance he needs for this kind of question. As he types the keyword
(divide or devide) the menu browser narrows the results to items that
contain the keyword. It's too bad that all the expanded tooltips and
features added in 2009 to help new users didn't seem to work here.

Doug

wrote in message news:6001648@discussion.autodesk.com...
To all: He's dutch like me. If he spells devide he also might typed it that
way.....A lot of peolple don't speak English as a native language........

To Paul: don't feel attacked and keep asking questions. That's what these
groups are for. These groups are the best source of knowledge. I looked on
some dutch sites but they´re not the best to say the least.
Also you should buy a (english) book (a 1200 pages AutoCAD bible - mastering
AutoCAD etc.) and read it front to back.

Menno
Distinguished Contributor
MENN0
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 13 of 16 (272 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

08-08-2008 06:32 AM in reply to: *Paul
I don't know about local language. I would say a Dutch AutoCAD would be stupid.
But you're right, basic help is easy accessible in AutoCAD.
F1 is not so bad after all....

Menno
*Paul
Message 14 of 16 (272 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

08-08-2008 06:57 AM in reply to: *Paul
Hello Cad-guys,

Thanks again for your answers, but I'm sorry to say that misspelled
words are possible. (Menno, I know about the book, thanks for the tip)

Have a nice weekend everyone.

Greetings Paul

Na rijp beraad schreef MENN0 :
> I don't know about local language. I would say a Dutch AutoCAD would be
> stupid. But you're right, basic help is easy accessible in AutoCAD.
> F1 is not so bad after all....
>
> Menno

--

Groeten Paul
*Warren Trost
Message 15 of 16 (272 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

08-18-2008 09:36 AM in reply to: *Paul
You're (your) correct in referencing people not speaking English as their
(there) native language. There (their) are a lot who do speak English as
their primary language who don't know how to spell or use the correct tenses
or other grammar when constructing their sentences.

Words in parenthesis are just some examples.

wrote in message news:6001648@discussion.autodesk.com...
To all: He's dutch like me. If he spells devide he also might typed it that
way.....A lot of peolple don't speak English as a native language........

To Paul: don't feel attacked and keep asking questions. That's what these
groups are for. These groups are the best source of knowledge. I looked on
some dutch sites but they´re not the best to say the least.
Also you should buy a (english) book (a 1200 pages AutoCAD bible - mastering
AutoCAD etc.) and read it front to back.

Menno
New Member
johnoneil
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
Message 16 of 16 (170 Views)

Re: devide a line equally

09-06-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: *Paul

I always use the geometry calculator. This way I do not have to waste time changing my pdmode and pdsize every time I need something divided.

 

Additionally, the measure and divide commands are practically useless when setting up window mullions or other objects that are center-to-center with equal spaces between.

I would typically only use Measure and Divide on curved objects.

 

First ENTER> Offset (usually my original command)

...you are prompted for a distance...

ENTER> 'cal

at command prompt >>>>Expression: ENTER> dist(int,int)/number of spaces you want.

 

The formula is always the same and the only thing that changes is the number of spaces you want.

You can use any snap modes in the brackets (nea,per) would also be very common. When you get good at this you will easily surpass anyone using the Divide and Measure commands.

 

Cheers

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.