Checking planarity of stell plate

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
OceanaPolynom
303 Views, 6 Replies

Checking planarity of stell plate

Hello

I am a land surveyor and I have been requested to check if a large steel plate is perfectly flat or not.  I can easily measure point elevations (X,Y,Z) on the surface of the plate to the desired degree of precision.  I think that any three equally  spaced points can be used to define a plane.  How can I define the plane and then check  the amount of divergence of the other points to that plane?

Thank you

John

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: OceanaPolynom

One way would be to collect all your points in World Coordinates, use any three of the points to define a User Coordinate System [UCS -> New -> 3point], and then for each other point, translate it from its original World Coordinates into the current Coordinate System:

(trans testpoint 0 1)

and look at the Z coordinate of what that returns.  If the test point is truly in the plane, the Z coordinate will be 0.  If not, it will say how far off the plane it is, and you can compare that to your desired tolerance.

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 3 of 7
OceanaPolynom
in reply to: Kent1Cooper

Hello

After making a UCS from 3 points I noticed that if I LIST the other points  the Z coordinate seems to be the difference between the plane as defined by the 3 points and the elevation of the point that I LISTed.  I didn'ty undeerstand the other part, (trans testpoint 0 1) is that a Lisp function? Is testpoint a variable with the point coordinates?

Thank you

John 

Message 4 of 7
Kent1Cooper

@OceanaPolynom wrote: