AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 1 of 8 (415 Views)

Block Editor

415 Views, 7 Replies
08-01-2008 12:01 PM
When I go into block editor, edit the block then close it out. My cursor is really jerky in model space. Especially bad when I go into a command and try to select something. The only way to get rid of the jerkiness is to close auto cad and restart it. Is there anyway to cure this?
Distinguished Contributor
MENN0
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 2 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

08-08-2008 12:04 AM in reply to: jamied2000
maybe you SNAP is turned on?
Valued Contributor
jolop
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 3 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

08-08-2008 12:07 AM in reply to: jamied2000
Pls post it by a screen shot. So that i can see and help you..
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 4 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

08-08-2008 01:24 AM in reply to: jamied2000
You don't need to post a screenshot of jerky cursor movement.

Do you have the floating layers palette visible?

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2009
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2009

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Introducing AcadXTabs 2010:
http://www.caddzone.com/acadxtabs/AcadXTabs2010.htm

wrote in message news:5996781@discussion.autodesk.com...
When I go into block editor, edit the block then close it out. My cursor is really jerky in model space. Especially bad when I go into a command and try to select something. The only way to get rid of the jerkiness is to close auto cad and restart it. Is there anyway to cure this?
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 5 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

08-08-2008 05:07 AM in reply to: jamied2000
I don't have snaps on. My Floating layers pallet is not on either. I even have a new video card from when I first posted this question. It is a ATI FireGL V5200. My old card I beleive was a NVIDIA Quadro 3200 or something like that.
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 6 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

08-13-2008 01:40 AM in reply to: jamied2000
Try running the task-manager along side to see how your CPU usage is looking whilst the mouse is being a jerk - if it's maxed out, see what it is that's causing it - is it ACAD, or something else?
ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
Active Contributor
kevinsimmons1110
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-15-2009
Message 7 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Block Editor

05-13-2009 04:03 PM in reply to: jamied2000
I have 2010 and am experiencing this exact same problem. It is intermittent and will sometimes 'go away' after a few minutes. Block editing is definitely related as a cause. I use SDI = 1 predominantly and it seems to be session independent. In other words one drawing session is experiencing the problem but jumping to another concurrent session exhibits no issues.

Task manager shows off the chart 99% plus on process ACAD when it is occurring.

Palette transparency is off globally.
I have installed the latest NVidia driver for my Quadro NVS 285 video card.
I am running a 3GHz P4 with 4 Gigabytes of ram - Dell Precision 380 workstation.
Block Editor background color is default.

Restarting AutoCAD does make it go away - for the moment - but it is soon back. Even closing all tool palettes has no effect.

This does seem to be drawing specific - 2010 seems to be sensitive to something in older drawing blocks - prototype drawings from hotel vendors for instance - most likely inherited from a third party DXF process exhibit the issue heavily - and blocks from these drawings to a lesser degree. I have to constantly purge, audit, and wblock replace my drawings to keep them clean. My default file type is 2010 which 'seems' to help, but it still happens. Audits show constant drawing errors cropping up, and repeating an audit, shows the same errors until a wblock replace is performed.

I can post a prototype file which exhibits this behavior if needed.
New Member
amrik
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-10-2007
Message 8 of 8 (372 Views)

Re: Block Editor

12-10-2010 07:45 AM in reply to: jamied2000

Check if this works

Rather then closing autocad try pressing Ctrl + Page Up or Page Down, (Which takes you from model space to paperspace).

mmatharu
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.