AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Cantafford
Message 1 of 8 (337 Views)

AutoCad noob questions

337 Views, 7 Replies
12-08-2012 09:03 AM

I've tried searching for this apparent obvious question but I caan't seem to find an answer. 

Question 1: I started drawing a shape using the line command. Then I stopped by pressing escape. Then I want to resume drawing and completing the shape. But when I try doing so I cannot just continue I have to deal with the stretch point. How can I just continue drawing another line without having to do the stretch point? 

Question 2: About angles. How can I calculate any angle(because I guess autocad can do this beiing the complex program that it is) I want not just the one with the XOY coordonates. Example in picture 1(my case).

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Message 2 of 8 (332 Views)

Re: AutoCad noob questions

12-08-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Cantafford

Hi,

>> question 1:

if you had constructed the shape where you want to continue as last object then you can use the option to use the last point just by clicking <ENTER> or <SPACE> when you are asked to show the start-point of your next line. AutoCAD stores internally the last construction point in a buffer. And when you now start a new line (or any object asking for a point) you can use this 'last construction point' with giving no point, but press <ENTER> or <SPACE> instead. You can verify that also with sysvar LASTPOINT (>>>details<<<).

In any other case, when LASTPOINT is not valid, because you did some other work after finished the given shape, you can use objectsnaps to define a point to be exactly on a specific point on any existing geometry (>>>details<<<).

>> question 2:

the easiest option is to create an angular dimension, that gives you the option to show 2 lines (segments) and the side of the angle to measure.

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at