AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kyheulon
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 1 of 13 (876 Views)

AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

876 Views, 12 Replies
04-20-2009 11:18 AM
We have rolled out AutoCAD 2009 and there is definitely something going on the speed that AutoCAD 2009 reads files across the network. We have upgraded from AutoCAD 2006 and have noticed a dramatic slowdown of loading of drawings and any references files between the two releases. Example of the problem; I have a base file located on a network drive with drawings and aerial images attached of a very large (in area) project. Loading the base file takes 65 seconds in AutoCAD 2006 but 12.5 minutes in AutoCAD 2009. As I started to dig deeper looking for any reason why, I noticed that loading the drawing in 06, one of my dual cores was running 60% to 85% utilization. When loading the same drawing in AutoCAD 2009, it was only running 0% to 4% utilization. In conjunction with the difference of CPU utilization, my network utilization was 20% loading the drawing in 06 and never got over 1% with 09. To further the test; I copied everything to my local HD and ran the same tests and 09 performed just as well as 06.

There seems to be an issue with the data transfer over the LAN with AutoCAD 2009. Can anyone help me understand why AutoCAD 2009 wouldn’t like out network setup?

Workstations are all XP SP2
Microsoft Network with Server 2003
We are utilizing a VLAN setup

Any help would be appreciated?
Thanks, Keith
Valued Contributor
thejac
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 2 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-20-2009 03:12 PM in reply to: kyheulon
We had similar issues with 2009 seeming sluggish, but most of the issue for us had to do with the new Layer Manager. You should not leave it open and docked constantly.

The better way to go is to change the Layer Manager back to the 2008 version using this command:

LAYERDLGMODE 0

Try that and see if you see improvement.
Distinguished Contributor
kyheulon
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 3 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-21-2009 04:32 AM in reply to: kyheulon
I agree that helps in drawing performance, the slowness I’m experiencing is on loading of the drawing and reference files. Just confused why there is such a lack of CPU and Network utilization during drawing and reference loading.

Anyone…
Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 4 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-21-2009 10:54 AM in reply to: kyheulon
Make sure layer properties manager is off and workspaces is set to "Do not save changes to workspace". This will speed up performance. Also look into system requierements for 2009, it requires quite a bit more processor speed and RAM.
Distinguished Contributor
kyheulon
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 5 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-21-2009 11:27 AM in reply to: kyheulon
Those settings didn’t help any regarding the initial load of the drawing and reference files. Still have hardly any CPU or network utilization opening the drawing. Very odd! In my original post, AutoCAD 2009 is as fast as AutoCAD 2006 when all the files are stored locally.

Still looking for HELP!
Valued Contributor
gslyons
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-22-2006
Message 6 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-22-2009 05:56 AM in reply to: kyheulon
Have you tried resetting your scalelists? I don't know about a performance difference between versions, but I have found that bloated scale lists will drastically affect drawing open times. The slowdown is much greater when the reference files have large scalelists.

~g
Distinguished Contributor
kyheulon
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 7 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-24-2009 06:02 AM in reply to: kyheulon
The drawing only has the default scale list, so that’s not the issue. Reminder: When the base file and all references are local (C: drive) to the workstation AutoCAD 2009 and 2006 open the base file virtually at the same speed. The problem is when the references files are on a network drive then there is an issue with the load time.

Still needing help!
Mentor
vakhtang
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 8 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-27-2009 10:02 AM in reply to: kyheulon
are you woprking from server or from your own hard drive? had same problem when we worked on server, but if you copy/move the file to your hard drive it works much faster
Distinguished Contributor
kyheulon
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-09-2003
Message 9 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

04-27-2009 10:06 AM in reply to: kyheulon
That is exactly correct. Having the reference files on the local HD worked as expected. But we can’t work in that environment. We have to pull the reference files from the servers. It really doesn’t make any sense.

Still needing HELP!
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 10 of 13 (876 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2009 Slow with network files

05-04-2009 07:33 AM in reply to: kyheulon
I have noted a significant increase in save times myself, in drawings that contain XREFs, in 2009 first and then 2010, which I had hoped had resolved the issue (it hadn't). By creating a fesh drawing and copying existing content into it, in a few instances I reduced the file size up to 25% and the save times down from 4 minutes to 1 1/2 - 2 minutes. Still quite some time to wait, especially when autosave kicks in in the middle of a command. Then I can't do anything on my computer until the save is finished.

I've checked and I have the required hardware and software, and I've set up the whole demand loading and index saves, and load with copy to my own computer, which hasn't shown any improvement. If anything, the files I save with indexes now take even longer to save.

Interestingly, if I unload XREFs first, then my drawing saves rather quickly. So does that mean AutoCAD is saving the XREFs along with the drawing file if they're loaded? Only an observation...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.