AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
New Member
haaris
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2009
Message 1 of 6 (1,020 Views)

64 BIT WINDOW OPERATING SYSTEM

1020 Views, 5 Replies
12-23-2009 01:30 AM
i cannot install 32 bit autocad to 64 bit windows operating system at Windows 7.

Please give me the solutions.

A.Ismail
New Member
haaris
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,020 Views)

Re: 32 bit autocad does not install 64 bit windows

12-23-2009 02:15 AM in reply to: haaris
I cannto install 32 bit autocad on 64 bit window system.

A.Ismail
Valued Contributor
mmelechinsky
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎03-26-2004
Message 3 of 6 (1,020 Views)

Re: 32 bit autocad does not install 64 bit windows

12-23-2009 05:11 AM in reply to: haaris
Perhaps you could try running it under XP Mode or call your authorized AutoDesk reseller and request a 64-bit version of your software. If you are "legal" then it should be no problem.
*Joel
Message 4 of 6 (1,020 Views)

Re: 32 bit autocad does not install 64 bit windows

12-23-2009 06:34 AM in reply to: haaris
wrote in message ...
>I cannto install 32 bit autocad on 64 bit window system.

Exactly.

Try installing the 64-bit version of Acad on the 64-bit OS. That works
fine.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 6 (1,020 Views)

Re: 32 bit autocad does not install 64 bit windows

12-28-2009 06:21 AM in reply to: haaris
32bit autocad=32bit windows
64bit autocad=64bit windows

64bit autocad ships with 32bit autocad, it's free.

If you own one you own the other, for free.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Active Member
Windows7Guy
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 6 of 6 (1,020 Views)

Re: 64 BIT WINDOW OPERATING SYSTEM

03-22-2010 08:37 AM in reply to: haaris
Hello haaris,

Just a bit of FYI to understand the issues with 32-bit and 64-bit OS upgrades and later options that may or may not be available to you later:
When upgrading from Windows Vista to Windows 7 you must upgrade the version currently installed within Windows Vista to the corresponding version in Windows 7. I.E. Windows Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Home Premium; Windows Vista Business to Windows 7 Professional; and Windows Vista Ultimate to Windows 7 Ultimate. You also cannot upgrade a 32-bit operating system to 64-bit -- to migrate from 32-bit to 64-bit will require a custom install.

Additionally, you will not be able to "upgrade" from a 32-bit version of Windows 7 to 64-bit -- the architecture between the two is too drastically different to allow such a change. To learn more about the differences between a 32-bit operating system and 64-bit please go to the following link: http://bit.ly/2aT3xP

I hope that helps you out!

It is always best to check with the software manufacturer FIRST. They will tell you if they have tested the product and the version, as well as whether or not it will work with Windows 7.
Check out the Windows 7 Compatibility site: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibilty.)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/en-us/default.aspx
There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".

There are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 at our Springboard site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx

In any event a lot of the times, Vista drivers will work in lieu of Windows 7 drivers, however, it's not 100%!

As stated previously, it's best to have the Windows 7 certified drivers installed.
Thanks again,
John M.
Microsoft Windows Client Support
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!