AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-18-2008
Post 1 of 19

2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

1976 Views, 18 Replies
02-02-2009 12:13 PM
AutoCAD 2009 crashes every time I click the Layer Properties button. Just started happening today, never happened before but now it's absolutely consistent. I can crash AutoCAD every time by starting it up and clicking Layer Properties. So now I am unable to create or modify layers in any drawing, new or old.

I get an error message saying "ReadProperty failed; CER defect 1085537 reproduced!" and followed by a whole bunch of stuff I don't understand like "at LayerManagerControl.Restore(Boolean bSave, Restore Type eRestore)" etc. Image attached.

Any ideas would be gratefully received as I have a deadline looming and can't do anything!

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-02-2009 01:19 PM in reply to: CADTutor62
CADTutor62 wrote:
> AutoCAD 2009 crashes every time I click the Layer Properties button.
> Just started happening today, never happened before but now it's
> absolutely consistent. I can crash AutoCAD every time by starting it up
> and clicking Layer Properties. So now I am unable to create or modify
> layers in any drawing, new or old. I get an error message saying
> "ReadProperty failed; CER defect 1085537 reproduced!" and followed by a
> whole bunch of stuff I don't understand like "at
> LayerManagerControl.Restore(Boolean bSave, Restore Type eRestore)" etc.
> Image attached. Any ideas would be gratefully received as I have a
> deadline looming and can't do anything!
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
Try Control Panel>Autocad 2009>Change and do a repair.
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-18-2008
Post 3 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-02-2009 02:08 PM in reply to: CADTutor62
I have done a Repair - no change, and a Reinstall - no change. Could this be a Registry problem. I notice that AutoCAD retained all the Registry settings after the reinstall?
*Dean Saadallah
Post 4 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-03-2009 05:12 AM in reply to: CADTutor62
As a side note....

Grab REVO UNINSTALLER, it's free, and works better than Windows and software
uninstallers ever could, go for maximum uninstall:
http://www.download.com/Revo-Uninstaller/3000-2096_4-10687648.html?tag=mncol

Then follow Autodesk's Uninstall AutoCAD instructions to delete any remnants
missed by Revo:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-18-2008
Post 5 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-03-2009 06:01 AM in reply to: CADTutor62
This issue appears to be something to do with the recent Microsoft .NET framework service pack but I now have a workaround: set LAYERDLGMODE = 0 as the legacy layer palette works fine but not the new modeless version.
*Tony Tanzillo
Post 6 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-05-2009 03:02 PM in reply to: CADTutor62
I don't think the error has anything to do with any service pack.

It would appear that you are using a debug version of one or
more AutoCAD libraries, because I can't find anything that would
cause that error to appear in my release version.

Are you involved in some sort of guinea pig program (e.g.,
'customer involvement' program) or that deal from Autodesk
Research?


--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2009
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2009
http://www.acadxtabs.com

Introducing AcadXTabs 2010:
http://www.caddzone.com/acadxtabs/AcadXTabs2010.htm


wrote in message news:6116969@discussion.autodesk.com...
This issue appears to be something to do with the recent Microsoft .NET
framework service pack but I now have a workaround: set LAYERDLGMODE = 0 as
the legacy layer palette works fine but not the new modeless version.
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-18-2008
Post 7 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-06-2009 12:33 AM in reply to: CADTutor62
Absolutely not. I am using a plain ordinary out-of-the-box AutoCAD 2009 with the 3 service packs applied on Windows Vista Home Premium. I've made no changes to the standard install and am not part of any program.

I don't see how you can be so sure that it has nothing to do with a new .NET service pack - unless you have some special insight.

For now I'm having to make do with the legacy version of the Layer Manager until a solution can be found.
Active Contributor
46 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Post 8 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-19-2009 02:39 PM in reply to: CADTutor62
I just wanted to say that you're not alone suffering this problem.

It started today, out of the blue. My last change to ACADE was installing sp2 when it was released several weeks ago.

I've also trying repairing and re-installing, without any improvement in the situation.

I suspect that I'll have to carry on using the modal dialog box until 2010 is relased.

Good Luck
*Mike Dickason \(Autodesk\)
Post 9 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-19-2009 04:35 PM in reply to: CADTutor62

Feel free to email me at
href="mailto:mike.dickason@autodesk.com">mike.dickason@autodesk.com
and
we'll see if we can figure out why this error is happening.

face=Arial size=2>

--
Mike Dickason
AutoCAD SWD

Autodesk, Inc.

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
just wanted to say that you're not alone suffering this problem. It started
today, out of the blue. My last change to ACADE was installing sp2 when it was
released several weeks ago. I've also trying repairing and re-installing,
without any improvement in the situation. I suspect that I'll have to carry on
using the modal dialog box until 2010 is relased. Good
Luck
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-18-2008
Post 10 of 19

Re: 2009 crashes when Layer Properties clicked

02-20-2009 02:54 AM in reply to: CADTutor62
Thanks for posting. I was beginning to think I was alone. I have tried uninstalling the .NET update but the problem still persists. No solution yet.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!