AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Member
mleonard88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 1 of 5 (2,903 Views)
Accepted Solution

Windows 7 and Autocad Mechanical 2006

2903 Views, 4 Replies
11-21-2011 07:12 AM

Hello! 

 

I have a client who was recently upgraded to Windows 7.  He is a user of autocad mechanical 2006.  We were able to install the program both locally (running with compatability settings Run as Administrator and in XP SP3) and in windows XP mode.  The problem we are experiencing is when we try to install autocad mechanical service pack 2.  When we attempt to, we  receive an error stating: "The service pack could not be installed because the expected Autodesk product could not be located on your computer.  Make sure that you are using the correct service pack for the product".  We get that error both in XP mode and in Windows 7.  I searched the downloads for a service pack 1 and could not find anything related to that. 

 

Also, the Windows 7 version is Professional SP1 (x64).  I thought that especially the x64 would be important because of how it installs applications ("program files x86" instead of just "program files").  Any help is greatly appreciated!

 

 

There is no fix, you have an upsupported combination of software and OS: updates/patches do not "see" these older programs installed in XP mode.

 

Did you try installing the software, then the update, without XP Mode?

It's cheaper to downgrade Windows7 to 32bit.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,727
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (2,894 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and Autocad Mechanical 2006

11-22-2011 06:40 AM in reply to: mleonard88

There is no fix, you have an upsupported combination of software and OS: updates/patches do not "see" these older programs installed in XP mode.

 

Did you try installing the software, then the update, without XP Mode?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
mleonard88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 3 of 5 (2,892 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and Autocad Mechanical 2006

11-22-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: pendean

I did try it both ways - inside xp mode and in windows 7.  Clean installs both times and then tried to install SP2 with a fresh download from this site.  So essentially, the only option is to upgrade?

 

Thanks for your prompt reply!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,727
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (2,884 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and Autocad Mechanical 2006

11-22-2011 12:12 PM in reply to: mleonard88

It's cheaper to downgrade Windows7 to 32bit.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
mleonard88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2011
Message 5 of 5 (2,881 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and Autocad Mechanical 2006

11-22-2011 12:22 PM in reply to: pendean

Thank you for your help!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.