AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
tdm
Member
tdm
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Message 21 of 35 (8,212 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

03-29-2011 07:42 AM in reply to: reactor386

That's cool Reactor,

 

My CAD users still are just users on my network, although they are admins of their boxes.

 

They generally don't monkey around with their admin status on their boxes since they don't want me chastizing them for making mods outside of company policy.

 

I was fortunate to have funds to bring everyone up to the same level this year as far as O/S and platforms were concerned.

 

We're all 64 bit Windows 7 stations running on a 2003 SB Server.

Using AutoCad since Version 2.6
Active Member
adsiddiqui
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
Message 22 of 35 (8,187 Views)

AutoCAD 2006 installation is aborted

03-30-2011 10:36 PM in reply to: *Dean Saadallah

Hi
When i install AutoCAD 2006 the .net frame stated installing and after that the error message came saying that AutoCAD 2006 - English installation is aborted. Please check "C:\Document~1\ADLM~1.IMC\LOCALS~1\Temp\AutoCAD 2006 Setup.log" for details.
Please any one help me in this regards

AD
Active Contributor
reactor386
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 23 of 35 (8,090 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2006 installation is aborted

04-10-2011 04:35 AM in reply to: adsiddiqui

First of all, try to install the .net before running AutoCAD setup (see Support folder). When you use .net installer run it as Administrator (right click menu).

New Member
bengbeng
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 24 of 35 (7,279 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

08-16-2011 02:11 AM in reply to: mnitta

I have solution for this problem, follow this step :

if you already install AutoCAD 2006 on your PC, follow this step:

 

- right click icon AutoCAD 2006 on desktop & click properties,

- choose compatibility tab, fill check box "Run this program in compatibility mode for: choose "Windows Vista"

- fill check box "Run this program as an administrator

 

if you deficult to run install AutoCAD 2006 on Windows 7 for a first time, you can follow this step:

 

- right click file Setup.exe in folder AutoCAD 2006 & click properties,

- choose compatibility tab, fill check box "Run this program in compatibility mode for: choose "Windows Vista"

- fill check box "Run this program as an administrator

 

(bengcyber@gmail.com)



Member
meowruser
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 25 of 35 (6,668 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

10-31-2011 12:43 PM in reply to: mnitta

We are shortly moving to AutoCAD 2012 for most of our work, but we still have some valid AutoCAD 2006 licenses, so I am very interested in its behaviour on Windows 7.

 

When I did a network install onto a Windows 7 Professional 32-bit SP1 test machine, I got an alert message that AutoCAD 2006 had known incompatibilities.  The message gave me the option of trying to run AutoCAD 2006 anyway, which I did.  Unlike other posters, I have not been able to get AutoCAD 2006 to misbehave in any obvious way so far.  Is there a list of known, consistent problems with AutoCAD 2006 running under Windows 7 that might trip me up?

 

Also, I have just started experimenting with the XP virtual machine offered to Windows 7 users by Microsoft.  Does anyone have experience running AutoCAD 2006 in this VM?

 

Thanks for any assistance.

New Member
jrrees
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 26 of 35 (6,516 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

11-16-2011 03:02 PM in reply to: tdm

After much testing I have found the solution for non admin accounts to run AutoCad 2006. Fix is surprisingly simple, and can be done using group policy. Users (or a particular user) just need to be granted rights to "Create Global objects". This is done using "Local Security Policy", "User Rights Assignment", if done at the local PC. These settings can also be controlled via group policy. So far my testing indicates that this is the ONLY change required. Hope this helps

New Member
saikatloveguru
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2012
Message 27 of 35 (4,384 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

09-09-2012 12:24 AM in reply to: mnitta

Dean or ANYONE....HELP!!!

Okay I recently HAD to upgrade from XP to Windows 7. Knowing that I would have to reinstall all programs, I took the plunge and now GRRRR!

I first installed ADT 2006, wouldn't open at all. Then I found this thread about the XP compatibility so I removed the program and everything concerning it and reinstalled. Still wouldn't open as it was looking for these specific dll files. I then went to the compatibility option and it opened, sorta. It did say THIS PROGRAM HAS KNOWN COMPATIBILITY ISSUES.

So continueing on...it opened up and then immediately told me that the customization file 'ADT.cui' failed to load. I hit okay and it continued loading.

After loading, I noticed that all of my tool bars, etc. across the top that I always previously had are not there, further, the main menu bar was reduced to File, View, Window, Help is all there is. There is no right click available, no nothing.

What do I do? I can't believe that Autodesk is going to leave us hung out to dry.

Help please!!!!

New Member
abemag
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 28 of 35 (4,087 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

11-02-2012 03:59 PM in reply to: mnitta

I'm running AutoCAD 2006 on Windows 7 and it works fine sorta.  My "Saveas" comand does not bring up the Save As dialog box but puts my options on the command line.  Is there a way to bring back my Save As dialog gox??

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,432
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 29 of 35 (4,075 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

11-04-2012 05:03 PM in reply to: mnitta
FILEDIA variable got turned off most likely.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
jseoni
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2014
Message 30 of 35 (1,620 Views)

Re: Windows 7 and AutoCAD 2006

03-18-2014 09:59 AM in reply to: mnitta

How can I use autocad 2006 with windows 7?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.