AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
New Member
jcompguy
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2010
Message 1 of 11 (82,370 Views)
Accepted Solution

Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

82370 Views, 10 Replies
06-26-2010 12:22 PM

Hello.  My client needs to upgrade some of their workstations, but can't afford to purchase the newest version of AutoCAD at this time.  Also, most new PCs come with Windows 7 and have components that may not have XP drivers.  I would prefer to be able to upgrade a nice $700 store bought one to 7 professional and use the virtual pc xp mode to run AutoCAD, but I'm not sure if it will work.

 

Does anyone know if it will?  Thanks for the help.

Someone posted this back in February 2010. He installed AutoCad 2004 to a Win 7 64 bit Machine and felt as though things were running smoothly.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2004-2005-Archive/Acad-2004-on-Win7/

 

I am needing to purchase a new computer as well.  I run Mechanical Desktop 2005 and hesitant to buy a new Win7 machine.

 

Don

New Member
dblvu
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 2 of 11 (82,336 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

06-30-2010 11:27 AM in reply to: jcompguy

Someone posted this back in February 2010. He installed AutoCad 2004 to a Win 7 64 bit Machine and felt as though things were running smoothly.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2004-2005-Archive/Acad-2004-on-Win7/

 

I am needing to purchase a new computer as well.  I run Mechanical Desktop 2005 and hesitant to buy a new Win7 machine.

 

Don

New Member
jcompguy
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2010
Message 3 of 11 (82,324 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

07-02-2010 03:26 PM in reply to: dblvu

Thank you very much for the info.  I really appreciate it.

*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 4 of 11 (82,295 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

07-06-2010 06:32 AM in reply to: jcompguy

You may want to consider a 32-bit version at this time instead of a 64-bit version. I tried 2000 on my new Win7 PC (32-bit) and so far so good, so I think 2004 should work just as well without attempting to emulate XP or anything...

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Valued Contributor
SrealMcCoy
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 11 (76,664 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

01-25-2011 03:09 PM in reply to: jcompguy

My experience was that Civil Series 2004 and LDT2004 installed fine under my Windows 7 64bit Home edition with NO XP mode and works just great.  But, if you try to install Civil 3d 2008 or LDT 2008 then under Windows 7 64 bit, then you get the 'This is a 32 bit Acad. It cannot be installed on a 64-bit Windows.'  What a scam!  What you have to do to install 2008 is go through the whole rigamarole of paying to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional (or Ultimate) to get Windows XP Mode, then download and intall Windows XP Mode and Windows Virtual PC (And be prepared to experience problems with the downloads from Microsoft...) then install 2008 under a Windows XP Mode session.  What a pain, and when all is said and done my LDT2008 runs excruciatingly slow.

OK... Rant On:

But then again making life difficult seems par for the course for Adesk... Unless that is you want to buy the lates version of your CAD platform and put it on perpetual subscription.  Which then causes a whole host of issues if your clients refuse to upgrade to the latest and greatest.

Rant Off... Please return to your previously scheduled troubleshooting.

 

Patrick

Contributor
vthubbard
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-02-2011
Message 6 of 11 (72,126 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

04-14-2011 06:37 AM in reply to: SrealMcCoy

Again, i find myself following Patrick's input...

 

My experience in trying to get Civil 3d 2009 to run on a Windows 7, 64 bit system was terrible. After many hours of trying in the native OS, I finally installed it in Windows XP mode...and it totally...hmmm...how do you say it?....doesn't work well.

 

 

New Member
johnmh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-12-2011
Message 7 of 11 (66,579 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

08-12-2011 08:03 AM in reply to: vthubbard

I am running Autocad 2004 under Windows 7 Professional 64 bit.  Initially it was crashing, but allowing saving of files.  I think the error had to do with permissions, so last night I ran it as Administrator and that seemed to make it stable.  The software installed without any problems or errors.  I think Win 7 Professional 64or Ultimate 64 may be needed for Autocad 2004.  I have not installed any 32 bit virtualization (unless it's there from the original OS install?)

 

System is a Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 mobo, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T processor, 16 gb DDR3 1333 memory, Gigabyte Radeon HD 6950 2gb video card.

 

I will try to post again if the situation changes.  JohnMH.

Member
Modelbouwer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2011
Message 8 of 11 (60,708 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

11-18-2011 05:01 AM in reply to: johnmh

I have installed Autocad 2004 on new PC with Windows 7 Professional and XP Mode. Installation with XP Mode was no problem. I copied the folder with Autocad drawings to the XP Mode. However when I want to open an Autocad file (in virtual XP Mode), I am told that Windows cannot find the file concerned. Is anoyne able to help me?

Member
Modelbouwer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2011
Message 9 of 11 (60,668 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

11-18-2011 01:21 PM in reply to: Modelbouwer

Further to my preceding message: was thinking about the remark that the system would run smoothly when running it as a "administrator". I tried this, but was asked to fill in a "password". Up till now I was never asked to give a password. Anyone Suggestions?  

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 11 (59,149 Views)

Re: Will AutoCAD 2004 Run on Windows 7 Professional with the Virtual PC XP Mode?

12-12-2011 05:24 PM in reply to: Modelbouwer
password for what?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.