AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Active Member
Donpk123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 1 of 14 (1,137 Views)

Why does zoom command deselect objects?

1137 Views, 13 Replies
03-11-2010 11:39 AM
When I select an object, then use the zoom command to zoom in, the selected object is deselected. I want to select various objects and use the zoom tool to locate them.

I am quite sure I have been able to select multiple objects and use the zoom tool at the same time. Something seems to have changed. Have I accidentally changed some configuration or option?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.


Don
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 14 (1,137 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 12:18 PM in reply to: Donpk123
Always worked like that, out of sight will be deselected, unless you selected them then pan.
and set your pickfirst = 1
Active Member
Donpk123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 3 of 14 (1,137 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 12:36 PM in reply to: Donpk123
Thanks, Patchy, for the quick reply.

If I understand you correctly, "out of sight will be deseleted" is not quite what I'm doing.

I select an object, then as soon as I enter "Z" and hit return, the object is deselected. The problem is that I want to select a large object and add small object which is in a group of other small objects which I don't want in the selection group. So to add the single small object I have to use the zoom tool to see it clearly. When I choose the zoom tool, I've now lost the large object, although it's still visible, but now deselected. Pickfirst is set to 1.

Don Edited by: Donpk123 on Mar 11, 2010 8:38 PM
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 12:42 PM in reply to: Donpk123
That would be pickadd variable, set it to 1
Active Member
Donpk123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 5 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 12:54 PM in reply to: Donpk123
Pickadd was set to 1.

Have you been able to do what I describe? That is, select an object and then "Z" + "Enter". Does that object remain selected, or does it deselect?


Don
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 12:57 PM in reply to: Donpk123
I got it now ☺ it got deselected, I use middle button to zoom and pan and didn't run into this problem.
But if you type in command first, then 'z it will work.
Active Member
Donpk123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 7 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 01:11 PM in reply to: Donpk123
Yes, I often use the mouse wheel to zoom as well, but there are some times when you want to do a large zoom, so the zoom commands are quicker.

I can swear I've been able to use zooming while selecting multiple objects. It's a logical thing to be able to do. What if you're not using a wheel mouse with zoom capability?

Don
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-11-2010 01:24 PM in reply to: Donpk123
May be it was before realtime and dynamic zoom was introduced, and 'z was the same as z.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 9 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-12-2010 05:42 AM in reply to: Donpk123
They do deselect and still do through R2010: use a scroll wheel mouse.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Active Member
Donpk123
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 10 of 14 (1,136 Views)

Re: Why does zoom command deselect objects?

03-12-2010 06:16 AM in reply to: Donpk123
Thanks, Dean, for clearing that up. It would have bugged me, thinking I inadvertently changed some configuration.

Don
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.