AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MJBERRY
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎08-17-2004
Message 11 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 08:47 AM in reply to: drh64
check a few things first:
1- do you have xrefs? If so, the text style may be in that file
2- so you have blocks not created by you? if so, the font may also be in there.
3-have you purged? if not do so clicking "confirm each item" and "purge nested items".
Once this is done, build a selection set, by text style, then ERASE, P (for previous) and enter.

if that does not work, you may need to rename the text style and then purge again.
Contributor
drh64
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 12 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 08:50 AM in reply to: drh64
NO BLOCK
NO XREFS
DRAWING IS TOTALLY CLEAN STARTED FROM ACAD.DWT and thes strange fonts still appear.

I do have SHX and TTF fonts loaded and I understand the difference between the two....

These bizzare TTF fonts still show up.
Distinguished Contributor
MJBERRY
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎08-17-2004
Message 13 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 09:03 AM in reply to: drh64
can you purge the dwt?
Contributor
drh64
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 14 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 09:05 AM in reply to: drh64
purging the DWT does not allow me to remove any unused text styles...
Distinguished Contributor
MJBERRY
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎08-17-2004
Message 15 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 10:00 AM in reply to: drh64
okay, try this...
1-open your dwt
2-RENAME, text style, select each style to rename, rename it to something else, (you need to pick each one individually and be sure to click "rename to")
3-purge
4-audit

if that does not work, I am lost! hope this solves your problem
Contributor
drh64
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 16 of 19 (101 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 10:59 AM in reply to: drh64
I opened acad.dwt which has only STANDARD defined as a style. You are not allowed to rename standard.

With STANDARD being the only style, I still have the strange fonts...

Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
MJBERRY
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎08-17-2004
Message 17 of 19 (102 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-29-2005 11:36 AM in reply to: drh64
okay, i have messed around with this and think i have a soluiton...
go to windows explorer, c:smileytongue:rogram files (or where ever your program files are located), go to autodesk (or autocad, depending on how your system is set up), fonts. in this folder, you should see your fonts for cad.
Now, I know you probably already that, so now do this:

go to the same file your fonts are located in (c:smileytongue:rogram files\autocad

createa a folder called "fonts 2", go to your original fonts folder, and click on the top font file and then scroll to the bottom fo the file and hold shift and click the last font file.

right click and "cut"

then go to fonts 2 folder and paste them there by right clicking and "paste".

now delete the original fonts folder

then rename the fonts 2 folder to fonts.

exit from any autocad session(s) open and reopen.

check your dwt and see if this corrected the issue. if not:

go to options, file, working support file path, and see where you are pathed for your fonts. if the path is not where you just deleted renamed the folder, add it or repath the fonts path currently in your settings. then restart cad.
Contributor
drh64
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 18 of 19 (102 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-30-2005 07:25 AM in reply to: drh64
Thanks for all the suggestions but still no resolution on this issue. I don't think that it is related to the dwt file at all. It is either an ACAD setting or a Windows setting.
Distinguished Contributor
bigscubadude
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎10-10-2003
Message 19 of 19 (102 Views)

Re: REMOVING UNUSED FONTS

08-30-2005 11:54 AM in reply to: drh64
Using windows explorer search for *.ttf search "my computer" then move all ttf files you don't want to a temp directory Open ACAD and see if you get the substitute font dialogue box. That should at least let you choose a fon't that you do want to use for any style that is defined.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.