AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
New Member
rdiercks
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2006
Message 1 of 8 (5,287 Views)

PDF import into ACAD

5287 Views, 7 Replies
09-18-2006 08:00 AM
What is the best way to import a pdf scanned drawing into AutoCAD? I know there are service providers that will convert pdf files to vector data, for a stiff fee. Is it feasible to import the pdf to an AutoCAD layer and trace over the image on another layer?
Thanks for any feedback.
*Allen Jessup
Message 2 of 8 (5,287 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

09-18-2006 08:18 AM in reply to: rdiercks
In Acrobat reader create a snapshot of the area you want. Bring it into a
raster program and save it as you favorite flavor of raster. Insert the
raster in to AutoCAD. Scale and rotate as needed. Do your heads-up
digitizing on the raster.

Allen

wrote in message news:5332575@discussion.autodesk.com...
What is the best way to import a pdf scanned drawing into AutoCAD? I know
there are service providers that will convert pdf files to vector data, for
a stiff fee. Is it feasible to import the pdf to an AutoCAD layer and trace
over the image on another layer?
Thanks for any feedback.
Active Contributor
davefitzpatrick
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-29-2006
Message 3 of 8 (5,287 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

09-19-2006 05:08 AM in reply to: rdiercks
On a side note, its often worth checking if a pdf is still a vector before you go tracing it. Most of the time pdfs made from Acad can be converted back to Acad drawings using something like abobe illustrator. Its saved me a lot of time on more than one occasion.
*R.K. McSwain
Message 4 of 8 (5,287 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

09-19-2006 05:16 AM in reply to: rdiercks
davefitzpatrick said the following On 9/19/2006 7:08 AM:
> On a side note, its often worth checking if a pdf is still a vector
> before you go tracing it. Most of the time pdfs made from Acad can be
> converted back to Acad drawings using something like abobe
> illustrator.

The OP said it was a scanned PDF.

However, if it *is* vector, see
http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/2006/03/convert-pdf-to-dwg.html for some
more options.

--
R.K. McSwain
http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com
Valued Contributor
tq1918
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 5 of 8 (4,950 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

08-03-2011 10:28 AM in reply to: rdiercks

I know this sounds dumb and my boss hates it, but it works.  xref a .pdf into your drawing.  open a .pdf reader to check the scale.  on the "attach pdf underlay" window locate boxs that says scale.  if the drawing is a  1/4 inch scale uncheck the boxthat says specify on screen and type in 96.  if the the scale is 1/8 inch type in 48.  (the math is sound but if you disagree then feel free to check me) then move .pdf by means of a known point... 0,0,0  or a grid line that in on both your pdf and auto cad drawing.  for a scaned .pdf the scale my be very off. so be careful.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,421
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 8 (4,946 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

08-03-2011 10:51 AM in reply to: tq1918

There is no PDF Overlay options in AutoCAD 2004/2005 where this old thread is located.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
tq1918
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 7 of 8 (4,942 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

08-03-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: tq1918

GUESS MY MATH WAS NOT SOUND IT IS 48 FOR 1/4 AND 96 FOR 1/8 SORRY

Valued Contributor
tq1918
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (4,231 Views)

Re: PDF import into ACAD

08-01-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: tq1918

Additionally you can scale your .pdf by reference.  It works just like rotate by reference.  Find four crossing intersections, two from the xrefed .pdf and two from known grid lines.  I use circles. 

 

1.Place a circle of different color on each of the points (ex. Column A-1 grid red, A-1 .pdf yellow, Column J-10 grid green, Column J-10 .pdf cyan).  

2. Place the .pdf A1 on A1 grid lines.   

3. Type _SCALE enter then select the .pdf.  Select center of circle on A1 as base point. 

4.  On command line select REFERENCE. Select same A1 base point again. 

5. Then select cyan J-10 (from example) on .pdf

6. Then select green J-10 on grid lines. 

 

If your .pdf is square with the world then it will now be fairly accurately place in your .dwg. 

 

If your .pdf is not square with the world start over and use this same method with rotate by reference to make it plum level and square. 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.