AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Valued Contributor
BrickLinder8006
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 1 of 5 (5,622 Views)

Import .shx & .shp files

5622 Views, 4 Replies
12-04-2003 05:35 AM
Is there a way to bring .shp & .shx files into a drawing?

I tried "load" and got "parcel2003a_co.shx" is a normal text font file, not a shape file.

I tried "shape" and got "No matching shapes found."

I tried "compile" and got "Bad shape definition at line 1 of parcel2003a_co.shp: Expected '*n,len,name' shape header"

Thanks for the help.
*Saadallah, Dean
Message 2 of 5 (5,622 Views)

Re: Import .shx & .shp files

12-04-2003 05:45 AM in reply to: BrickLinder8006
If you drop the SHX and SHP files in the fonts folder being used by your
AutoCAD, simply starting up the DWG file would load them in the file they
are being used.

If you are trying to use them in your linetypes in new files, you have to
have the linetype definition that calls these and sets them up to be able to
use them.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Valued Contributor
BrickLinder8006
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 3 of 5 (5,622 Views)

Re:

12-04-2003 06:00 AM in reply to: BrickLinder8006
The files are ArcExplorer files with parcel boundaries (lines) without text. Im not sure of linetypes. Can an .AEP file be imported?
*Corbin, Tripp
Message 4 of 5 (5,622 Views)

Re:

12-04-2003 06:07 AM in reply to: BrickLinder8006
ArcExplorer reads ArcView shape files. To view
these in AutoCAD, you must import them with Map or export them to dxfs from
ArcGIS. Also a shapefile must have at least three individual files to be
complete, .shp, .shx, .dbf. If you don't have all three the file will not
work.

 

Tripp Corbin


Autodesk Authorized Developer

ESRI Business Partner/Authorized
Trainer


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
The
files are ArcExplorer files with parcel boundaries (lines) without text. Im
not sure of linetypes. Can an .AEP file be imported?
Member
carscott
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-02-2007
Message 5 of 5 (5,622 Views)

Re:

02-27-2007 09:47 AM in reply to: BrickLinder8006
Tripp,

I have all three files required. Can you help me insert my first shp file? Where should each file be placed to work properly?

Chris.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.