AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Valued Contributor
JMESCHMID
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-10-2004
Message 1 of 7 (821 Views)

Find Open Polylines

821 Views, 6 Replies
05-09-2006 01:32 PM
Is there a way to find open polylines in a drawing? "open" is not a property available in FILTER.

Any Help?
*Brad
Message 2 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-09-2006 01:45 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
I have a very crude way, but it works. Use single point break on a polyline
that appears to be closed and then select to one side of the break. If it
shows up still as one piece, it was closed before. Then hit control Z.

Another way is to use a polyline join command I came up with. It won't tell
you if it is closed or not, but it will close it if it was not closed
before, assuming you are in one plane and the gap is smaller than your fuzzy
distance.

^C^C_peditaccept;1;_select;_auto;\_Pedit;_m;_p;;_j;\;

Overall, the first is more likely to tell you want you want to know, but you
may have to use a filter to find all of your polylines.

Brad

wrote in message news:5169151@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way to find open polylines in a drawing? "open" is not a
property available in FILTER.

Any Help?
Valued Contributor
JMESCHMID
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-10-2004
Message 3 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-09-2006 02:08 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Not quite what I was looking for. I mean to create a filtered selection set of multiple open polylines within a drawing so I can isolate them for editing. Thanks though
*Brad
Message 4 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-09-2006 02:15 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
I will check back to see if anyone has any other suggestions. I have this
problem occasionally, but only fix the ones I stumble across.

Brad

wrote in message news:5169200@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not quite what I was looking for. I mean to create a filtered selection set
of multiple open polylines within a drawing so I can isolate them for
editing. Thanks though
*Jason Piercey
Message 5 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-09-2006 02:20 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
One way you can do this is by using the QSELECT
command instead of the FILTER command.


--
Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator



wrote in message news:5169151@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way to find open polylines in a drawing? "open" is not a
property available in FILTER.

Any Help?
Valued Contributor
JMESCHMID
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-10-2004
Message 6 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-09-2006 02:55 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
The QSELECT is exactly what I needed. Thanks!
*Jason Piercey
Message 7 of 7 (821 Views)

Re: Find Open Polylines

05-10-2006 05:50 AM in reply to: JMESCHMID
You're welcome.

--
Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator



wrote in message news:5169264@discussion.autodesk.com...
The QSELECT is exactly what I needed. Thanks!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.