AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Valued Contributor
javierp
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-17-2005
Message 1 of 13 (908 Views)

Fillet lines non coplanar

908 Views, 12 Replies
04-18-2006 03:39 PM
Hello there:
I thing someboy just guessing to answer me that this is impossible.
Unfortunately I know this. The matter is we are doing some lines in ours drawings, but when we try to fillet them, they are non coplanar, even they are Z-0 lines!!!.
Anybody knows why is happening??, do we need to set some kind of variable in order to fix this problem??.
Sometimes we got to do the lines again, and sometimes fix the problem that...
Distinguished Contributor
teiarch
Posts: 4,414
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 2 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-18-2006 07:14 PM in reply to: javierp
First, set your display accuracy to the smallest increment for the units your are using, then list the objects to determine the Z values. If display accuracy is set too high values round off to zero when they actually are some other value.

If both line endpoints were at Z=0, they would fillet as expected. One or both endpoints are not where they should be.
Valued Contributor
javierp
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-17-2005
Message 3 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-19-2006 06:21 AM in reply to: javierp
OK, I'll check the drawings again.
Thanks for your help!
Active Contributor
cara
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎07-13-2005
Message 4 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-19-2006 02:21 PM in reply to: javierp
You should open your view toolbar and select the front view and make sure nothing is drawn on another plane. If there is you can use the flat.lsp that I have attached to put everything in the drawing on the same plane. You may have to do it a couple of times.
Valued Contributor
javierp
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-17-2005
Message 5 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-19-2006 02:27 PM in reply to: javierp
Thanks Cara.
I'll do what you said, Gotta tell you later...
*George Drayton
Message 6 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-19-2006 04:20 PM in reply to: javierp
The error message talks about the "plane" that the geomtry is in so that it
might involve more than just the Z coordinate of a single endpoint.

rgds

gd

--
George Drayton CD-CAD Ltd New Zealand
wrote in message news:5147008@discussion.autodesk.com...
OK, I'll check the drawings again.
Thanks for your help!
Distinguished Contributor
teiarch
Posts: 4,414
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 7 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-19-2006 08:31 PM in reply to: javierp
George D: You are quite right. If you note in the OP's post, he said endpoints were at zero. Since we know that can't be, I suspect he's got his dosplay accuracy setting set too high and it's not displaying perhaps a fractional Z value.

The other option if he wants to fillet "as-is" is to draw a 2 point circle between the end points align his UCS and fillet but this won't work if conditions are as you describe.
Distinguished Contributor
JDMATHER
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-20-2006 05:39 AM in reply to: javierp
If you can't figure it out zip and post the file.
Valued Contributor
javierp
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-17-2005
Message 9 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-20-2006 06:34 AM in reply to: javierp
I've done the first one, and it worked fine.
It only was accuracy matter...
Thanks to everybody
Distinguished Contributor
troye
Posts: 1,077
Registered: ‎01-16-2006
Message 10 of 13 (908 Views)

Re: Fillet lines non coplanar

04-20-2006 10:30 AM in reply to: javierp
the acad 2006 default ``flat '' is FLATTEN
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.