AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Member
chopes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 1 of 8 (647 Views)

Fields, Rounding

647 Views, 7 Replies
03-21-2005 06:31 AM
Is there any way to round off values in fields?

This is a major limitation for me if it can't be done.
*Rick Moore
Message 2 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

03-21-2005 06:49 AM in reply to: chopes
The precision can be set from 0 to 8 decimal places -- Rick Moore Barnes Gromatzky Kosarek Architects www.bgkarchitects.com "chopes" wrote in message news:19638446.1111415500246.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Is there any way to round off values in fields? > > This is a major limitation for me if it can't be done.
Member
chopes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 3 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

03-21-2005 10:02 PM in reply to: chopes
Yes, but you can't round off to the nearest 5 or 10 for example.
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 4 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

03-31-2005 01:23 PM in reply to: chopes
You can do that using formula like this: round(/5)*5 Where it says you can just right click and select insert field (again) and select an objects length for example. -- Best Regards, Jimmy Bergmark CAD and Database Developer Manager at www.pharmadule-emtunga.com Blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm report tool) - www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport SmartPurger (Purges automatically) - www.jtbworld.com/?/smartpurger.htm or download some freeware at www.jtbworld.com More on AutoCAD 2005 and 2006 www.jtbworld.com/autocad2005.htm www.jtbworld.com/autocad2006.htm "chopes" wrote in message news:21085014.1111471397125.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Yes, but you can't round off to the nearest 5 or 10 for example.
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 5 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

04-01-2005 12:23 AM in reply to: chopes
I put a bit more about this on my blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com/2005/04/autocad-2006-and-formulas-in-fields.html -- Best Regards, Jimmy Bergmark CAD and Database Developer Manager at www.pharmadule-emtunga.com Blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm report tool) - www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport SmartPurger (Purges automatically) - www.jtbworld.com/?/smartpurger.htm or download some freeware at www.jtbworld.com More on AutoCAD 2005 and 2006 www.jtbworld.com/autocad2005.htm www.jtbworld.com/autocad2006.htm "Jimmy Bergmark" wrote in message news:424c6a10_3@newsprd01... > You can do that using formula like this: > round(/5)*5 > Where it says you can just right click and select insert > field (again) and select an objects length for example. > > -- > Best Regards, Jimmy Bergmark > CAD and Database Developer Manager at www.pharmadule-emtunga.com > Blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com > JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm report tool) - > www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport > SmartPurger (Purges automatically) - www.jtbworld.com/?/smartpurger.htm > or download some freeware at www.jtbworld.com > More on AutoCAD 2005 and 2006 > www.jtbworld.com/autocad2005.htm > www.jtbworld.com/autocad2006.htm > > > "chopes" wrote in message > news:21085014.1111471397125.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... >> Yes, but you can't round off to the nearest 5 or 10 for example. > >
Member
chopes
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 6 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

04-01-2005 04:28 AM in reply to: chopes
Thanks for the info - it is a great help.
Active Contributor
Kamasop
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 7 of 8 (614 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

05-25-2011 06:32 AM in reply to: chopes

Have you ever had the issue, that you wanted a sum of several fields, but wanted Acad to use the rounded numbers not the real accuracy?

 

eg. we want to add up areas for a flat, and since you only have to have an accuracy of 1,01m2 (eg.) but we are drawing in cm, Acad uses 1.0050m2 in the back to calculate. most of the times that might not have an effect, but if it does it might actually be quite grave (buying a flat...)

 

thanks for any answer.

best, kat

New Member
stanman.ng
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-25-2014
Message 8 of 8 (74 Views)

Re: Fields, Rounding

08-28-2014 10:31 AM in reply to: Kamasop

Hi Kamasop , did your calculation accuracy problem fixed ? i've the similar problem too , pls suggest !! Cheers !!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.