AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
*larry
Message 1 of 9 (583 Views)

ELLIPSE THICKNESS

583 Views, 8 Replies
03-31-2005 11:00 AM
Does anyone know of a way to add thickness to an ellipse, like you can polyline? Thanks in advance for any replies. -- Larry
*Walt Engle
Message 2 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

03-31-2005 11:47 AM in reply to: *larry
You can with standard ellipse - but you can with pellipse. Try it - you'll like it!
*Walt Engle
Message 3 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

03-31-2005 12:22 PM in reply to: *larry
Sorry, that should have said "You cannot with standard........."
*larry
Message 4 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

03-31-2005 12:43 PM in reply to: *larry
That's what I'm talking about Walt. Thanks -- Larry "Walt Engle" wrote in message news:424C5C1D.BFA42B7C@houston.rr.com... > Sorry, that should have said "You cannot with standard........." >
*Walt Engle
Message 5 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

03-31-2005 12:57 PM in reply to: *larry
You are more than welcome.
Distinguished Contributor
teiarch
Posts: 4,414
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 6 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

04-09-2005 01:38 PM in reply to: *larry
Walt: Did the OP mean "thickness" or "width"? Two entirely different directions to go here.....

Without the program you mentioned (I only have 02) I have to convert the ellpse to plines before I can do either.
*Walt Engle
Message 7 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

04-09-2005 09:29 PM in reply to: *larry
Sorry - don't know what you're refering to. Assuming it is how to make ellipses wider, use pellipse.
New Member
JNOBLE12
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-16-2009
Message 8 of 9 (487 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

08-15-2012 11:33 AM in reply to: *larry

First , command: PELLIPSE  1 (default 0)

Second, command: ELLIPSE (Draw ellipse)

Third,command: PE

Fourth: width option (W) Give some width)

And you get what you want.

Good luck!

Julia Noble

 

*Expert Elite*
Kent1Cooper
Posts: 5,879
Registered: ‎09-13-2004
Message 9 of 9 (446 Views)

Re: ELLIPSE THICKNESS

11-06-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: JNOBLE12

JNOBLE12 wrote:

First , command: PELLIPSE  1 (default 0)

Second, command: ELLIPSE (Draw ellipse)

Third,command: PE

Fourth: width option (W) Give some width)

.... 


Or, they could really have wanted the AutoCAD meaning of Thickness [which is "up off the page" in the Z direction], rather than Width.  But either way, at least in Acad2004, Ellipses can't have either, but Polylines can, so making an Ellipse as a Polyline approximation is the only way to get either characteristic.  Both can be applied by way of the Properties Box, rather than through the Pedit command, which can assign Width, but not Thickness.

Kent Cooper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.