AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mikeevans
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎02-04-2005
Message 11 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-07-2005 08:41 AM in reply to: jockey
Darren Thanks for letting me know.

I had not seen any responses so I assumed that no one was really looking into this.

If this is the case can someone out there give me an AutoCAD command to use or file that will educe a crash on running it so that hopefully I can send the crash info to the Autodesk guy's for assistance as it happens on average every day here.

Maybe that way there will be something in the report that may help them out.

Mike Evans.

PS what are the other two comments about? they don't seem to make any sense.
New Member
STEELman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2005
Message 12 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-08-2005 08:19 AM in reply to: jockey
I tried to experiment and find out if there is a specific command which brings about the "disappearing dialogue box" syndrome. I discovered that it seems to be related to available memory. If I open a lot of drawings at once (more than 10) and frequently switch between them and close them all in succession, the next drawing I open up has the problem. I've also noticed that if many other applications are opened and closed (Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, Word, Excel, Media Player, etc.) with AutoCAD running in the background, the problem appears (or "disappears" in this case). I only have 512MB of RAM and that may be contributing to the problem. Maybe someone else can verify this theory on their computer. I do have to restart AutoCAD 3 or 4 times a day because of this issue.
Distinguished Contributor
mikeevans
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎02-04-2005
Message 13 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-12-2005 05:35 AM in reply to: jockey
My system is a dual P4 3GHZ with 512 MB Ram (the page file is 1024 - 3000MB) with 64MB Video Ram.

I do nearly always have more than 5 dwg files open at once so although I have never kept count it could be one possible issue. However, I have received the error with less than 3 drawings open. I don't seem to get the error when excel or word (office 2000) is opened as you said.

I just opened 25 drawings, some large and some smaller in the one session, started word/excel and closed them again without any problems. After closing all the opened drawings (closeall command) the next drawing I opened had no problems. I also opened about 6 of our larger survey drawings (Approx. 10 MB each) with no problems.

I have not noticed any particular command or sequence that starts the error in motion, it does seem to be just when ACAD feels like it.

I'll keep an eye out to see when it next happens as to the ram, dwgs open and other applications etc and report back when I have anything. Also i'll try when it occurs using word etc to get it to function again.
*Don Reichle
Message 14 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-12-2005 06:36 PM in reply to: jockey
Hey Mike;

If I were you I would look into getting an increase in RAM, just as soon as
possible. Both for your System and Video Card.

At today's prices, I can't see running a system on those kind of components.

HTH

--
Don Reichle
"King Of Work-Arounds"
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
--------------------------------------
LDT-2K4
AMD64 3200+
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Western Digital Raptor 10K-rpm HD


wrote in message news:4953101@discussion.autodesk.com...
My system is a dual P4 3GHZ with 512 MB Ram (the page file is 1024 - 3000MB)
with 64MB Video Ram.

I do nearly always have more than 5 dwg files open at once so although I
have never kept count it could be one possible issue. However, I have
received the error with less than 3 drawings open. I don't seem to get the
error when excel or word (office 2000) is opened as you said.

I just opened 25 drawings, some large and some smaller in the one session,
started word/excel and closed them again without any problems. After closing
all the opened drawings (closeall command) the next drawing I opened had no
problems. I also opened about 6 of our larger survey drawings (Approx. 10 MB
each) with no problems.

I have not noticed any particular command or sequence that starts the error
in motion, it does seem to be just when ACAD feels like it.

I'll keep an eye out to see when it next happens as to the ram, dwgs open
and other applications etc and report back when I have anything. Also i'll
try when it occurs using word etc to get it to function again.
Distinguished Contributor
mikeevans
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎02-04-2005
Message 15 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-22-2005 06:57 AM in reply to: jockey
Nice W/s spec do you play doom on it as well?

You do have a very good point, At home I have a Sillicon Graphics 320 PIII / 512 that still beats most computers for graphics hands down (apart from gaming).
Please could you write to my employer and explain to him the benefits of good quality hardware as I don't think that they would believe me

To be honest I don't really get any issues with the Processors or memory it mostly purrs like a kitten. There is the occasional time where a drawing is about 80MB in size but that's expected.
*Don Reichle
Message 16 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-22-2005 05:31 PM in reply to: jockey
No, but thanks for the thought, :-)

I'm hopefully about to embark on a new realm - XP64. The last piece to my
puzzle is PartitionMagic. I've got quite the "mosaic" of Partitions in my
Raptor.

--
Don Reichle
"King Of Work-Arounds"
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
--------------------------------------
LDT-2K4
AMD64 3200+
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Western Digital Raptor 10K-rpm HD


wrote in message news:4964013@discussion.autodesk.com...
Nice W/s spec do you play doom on it as well?

You do have a very good point, At home I have a Sillicon Graphics 320 PIII /
512 that still beats most computers for graphics hands down (apart from
gaming).
Please could you write to my employer and explain to him the benefits of
good quality hardware as I don't think that they would believe me

To be honest I don't really get any issues with the Processors or memory it
mostly purrs like a kitten. There is the occasional time where a drawing is
about 80MB in size but that's expected.
New Member
kevo10357
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-27-2005
Message 17 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

09-27-2005 10:19 PM in reply to: jockey
We have had this problem ever since upgrading to 2006 from 2004. It appears (or disappears) only after invoking a plot either to a device or file. We are using the Xerox8830 in Sydney and the 8850 in Melbourne but both experience the same drop out similar to yours. It is not every plot but I can open a brand new (single) file with a drawing sheet and get maybe 3-6 plots from it before my boxes drop out.
Can anyone else narrow down the occurence to plot time or is this just one way of forcing the problem to show itself???
Member
Kevo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 18 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

10-05-2005 11:00 PM in reply to: jockey
Hi Mike,
Are you by any chance using a Xerox wide format plot device?
Member
jockey
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2005
Message 19 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

10-05-2005 11:14 PM in reply to: jockey
We are using a XEROX 8830 Wide Format Plotter. What we have begun to nitice is that the dialog boxes disappear at some stage after a drawing had been plotted. We have done some tests on some machines by not plotting on them for a day or two and there is no problem with the dialog boxes. It appears that the Xerox drivers may be causing a problem with the dialog boxes.
Distinguished Contributor
mikeevans
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎02-04-2005
Message 20 of 30 (89 Views)

Re: Dialog Boxes Disappearing

10-06-2005 05:56 AM in reply to: jockey
Funnily enough Yes,
We use a Xerox 8825 plotter , it might be something to do with that as it has many faults. I've go to admit I really don't like the device it's always going wrong, plots badly and has limited greyshades.

I have battled to use a system printer driver rather than the xes8.hdi driver to no avail.

But I have not yet noticed that this happens when plotting. Will look out to see.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.