AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scale and the Metric system

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
andyfoley
6314 Views, 11 Replies

Scale and the Metric system

I am a Graduate Student in Lighting Design. I usually work in Imperial. I just received a drawing of a newsroom that is Metric. I need to do a lighting design for the space as a class project. I'm having 2 problems with the drawing.

1) The scale is set at 1:150. This seems like a weird scale to me and when I try to import the drawing into my Lighting Design program (WYSIWYG www.castlighting.com) or into Vectorworks neither has an option for 150. Everything is below 100. So all the blocks that I try to import are set on a scale of 100 or below so nothing is scaled properly. What would the proper scale factor be for 150? Or I can save blocks I need from the program back into dwg files but I don't know how to scale them for 150 either.

2) When I try to measure the drawing everything is shown in ft. I went to Dimension and tried to adjust style but it doesn't seem to work.

This is a complete Architectural drawing of the space. All I really need is some general information of a plan view. Then I do a lighting design by simply throwing a couple lighting fixtures ontop of the drawing.

It comes down to me not using the Metric system and then never seeing a scale of 1:150....is this a normal scale on a drawing?

This is making my head hurt.

Thanks for your help
Andy Foley
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: andyfoley

1. Change the scale: Zoom 1/???xp 2. On the toolbar - Format>Units> You may end up having to rescale the dwg to use imperial.
Message 3 of 12
Anonymous