AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
New Member
Arnold Ziffle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-30-2003
Message 1 of 4 (144 Views)

Normal Z

144 Views, 3 Replies
12-30-2003 08:05 AM
When drawing an arc you have Start, Center, and End X,Y,Z coordinates all of which are set to 0 for the Z (in my drawing). However, there appears to be a default setting of 1 with the "Normal" X,Y, & Z which I can not edit.

The problem this is causing me is I'm drawing circles with the tan tan radius command and when I get to these arcs they won't connect due (I assume) to the normal Z setting of 1.

Is it possible to edit this setting?
Distinguished Contributor
kchristm
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎08-01-2003
Message 2 of 4 (144 Views)

Re: Normal Z

12-31-2003 06:54 AM in reply to: Arnold Ziffle
The Z coordinate can be set using the Elevation command. At the command prompt type in ELEV and check to see if the setting has been changed to 1. Hope this helps.
Member
tsingi
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 3 of 4 (116 Views)

Re: Normal Z

04-03-2012 08:45 AM in reply to: kchristm
He isn't talking about the Z coordinate, he is talking about the 'Normal Z' value. I'm not sure what that is supposed to be, some kind of orientation ordinate, but it's screwing me over as well. elevation is NOT the answer.
Member
tsingi
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 4 of 4 (115 Views)

Re: Normal Z

04-03-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: tsingi
I've discovered that the normal value is an ordinate for a normalization unit vector which specifies which direction the 'face' is pointing. For a 2d drawing I assume this should be 0,0,1 for everything. I have circles with a normal unit vector of 0,0,-1 in some cad that should be 2d, but isn't. This is playing havoc with my data when I export it.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.