AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
Valued Contributor
trumph
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎08-29-2003
Message 1 of 8 (61 Views)

Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.

61 Views, 7 Replies
08-01-2001 01:03 AM
I just upgraded from R14 through 2000i to A2K2 (full install). When I have multiple documents open, there is no Window pulldown menu. I can switch between documents with CTRL+TAB but is seems that there should be a Window pull down since the AutoCAD help says:

"Use the Window menu to control the display of multiple drawings in an AutoCAD session."

Any idea what's going on here? I also miss the Express Tools, but I guess They're gone for good. I'll have to write my own Layer Freeze now.

Thanks,
Tim Rumph
Design Engineer
Railraod Friction Products Corp.
*Ulm, Kevin
Message 2 of 8 (61 Views)

Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-01-2001 03:41 AM in reply to: trumph
use menuload command, pick menu bar tab, you can then add the missing
pull down.

Kevin
-----Original Message-----
From: trumph [mailto:trumph@wabtec.com]
Posted At: Wednesday, August 01, 2001 12:04 PM
Posted To: 2002general
Conversation: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.
Subject: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.


I just upgraded from R14 through 2000i to A2K2 (full install). When I
have multiple documents open, there is no Window pulldown menu. I can
switch between documents with CTRL+TAB but is seems that there should be
a Window pull down since the AutoCAD help says:

"Use the Window menu to control the display of multiple drawings in an
AutoCAD session."


Any idea what's going on here? I also miss the Express Tools, but I
guess They're gone for good. I'll have to write my own Layer Freeze now.



Thanks,
Tim Rumph
Design Engineer
Railraod Friction Products Corp.
Valued Contributor
trumph
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎08-29-2003
Message 3 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-01-2001 06:06 AM in reply to: trumph
Thanks Kevin, but the is no "Window" menu listed in the ACAD menu group under Menu Bar tab. The other menu groups I have list are "ACADVBA" and "ACCOV".



Tim



use menu bar tab, you can then add the missing
pull down.

Kevin
-----Original Message-----
From: trumph [mailto:trumph@wabtec.com]
Posted At: Wednesday, August 01, 2001 12:04 PM
Posted To: 2002general
Conversation: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.
Subject: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.



I just upgraded from R14 through 2000i to A2K2 (full install). When I
have multiple documents open, there is no Window pulldown menu. I can
switch between documents with CTRL+TAB but is seems that there should be
a Window pull down since the AutoCAD help says:


"Use the Window menu to control the display of multiple drawings in an
AutoCAD session."



Any idea what's going on here? I also miss the Express Tools, but I
guess They're gone for good. I'll have to write my own Layer Freeze now.




Thanks,
Tim Rumph
Design Engineer
Railraod Friction Products Corp.

Distinguished Contributor
ottema
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎04-02-2003
Message 4 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-01-2001 05:06 PM in reply to: trumph
First tip I want to give is:
Always make a custom folder with all your custom settings
(lisp,mnu.mns,bmp, ....) This allows you to create a backup for new installations or upgrade\updates. Just add the folder into the supportsettings(options) or into the acad startup shortcut command line (/s).

Always backup a profile or setvar settings into this map.

(For all < 2000 release users wor when you don't have the tools like express-bonus-tools. type >command>servar>?>F2>copy all settings into notepad>remove save this file as a setvar.scr file
This script file contains al settings and can be loaded/droped into acad to restore your setver settings
(copy the ..\support\acad2000doc.lsp file also into the custom folder))

When you instal (I do not prefer update) the new acad2002 this custom map can be placed into the new acad folder.
This you do also with your old express tools they still work ,install them and copy your old express folder over the installed express folder. (all your custom settings are the same again)

Then start acad:smileyembarrassed:command>menu>find your main mnu(mns) file and load it.
Then >command>menuload> add all other MNU(mns) files like express tools or custom menu/toolbars.

I always copy the acad.mnu(and mnl) file into the custom rename it and customize it to my own userlevel. I also remove the toolbar section and create a special toolbar menu. This is much quicker when you make changes to the toolbar (into autocad or with notepad) When restarting acad the pulldown (main mnu) can remain the same. Also you can remove part you don't use often. When you make mistakes or when you want to use the removed fucntions you can load the org. acad.mnu file and load still your own toolbar mnu.

If you (still) mis the pulldown menu be allert you do not work into fullscreen modes >command>fullscreen
*Gilmer, Tom
Message 5 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.

08-01-2001 09:25 PM in reply to: trumph
Wow!
*Brown, Anne
Message 6 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-01-2001 10:54 PM in reply to: trumph
The original of this message with attached file has been moved to
Customer Files
(news://discussion.autodesk.com/autodesk.autocad.customer-files
or http://discussion.autodesk.com/WebX?14@@.ee940b5). Please do
not post files or graphics in product support groups. See the
newsgroup guidelines at
http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules.

--
Anne Brown
Manager, Moderator
Autodesk Product Support discussion groups
Discussion Q&A: http://www.autodesk.com/discussion

=======
Subject:
Re: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.
Date:
Thu, 2 Aug 2001 05:08:04 -0700
From:
"Ulm, Kevin"
Newsgroups:
autodesk.autocad.2002general


Ok, if you pick the menubar tab you will see a list of pulldown
menus
listed. Under the ACAD menus you will see a list. scroll thru the
list
and add the Windows Pulldown Menu.

File: Outlook.bmp
*Ulm, Kevin
Message 7 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-02-2001 12:07 AM in reply to: trumph
Sorry Anne, thought it was ALOT smaller.

-----Original Message-----
From: Anne Brown [mailto:discussion.support@autodesk.com]
Posted At: Thursday, August 02, 2001 9:55 AM
Posted To: 2002general
Conversation: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.
Subject: Re: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.


The original of this message with attached file has been moved to
Customer Files
(news://discussion.autodesk.com/autodesk.autocad.customer-files
or http://discussion.autodesk.com/WebX?14@@.ee940b5). Please do
not post files or graphics in product support groups. See the
newsgroup guidelines at
http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules.

--
Anne Brown
Manager, Moderator
Autodesk Product Support discussion groups
Discussion Q&A: http://www.autodesk.com/discussion

=======
Subject:
Re: Missing Window pulldown menu in A2K2.
Date:
Thu, 2 Aug 2001 05:08:04 -0700
From:
"Ulm, Kevin"
Newsgroups:
autodesk.autocad.2002general


Ok, if you pick the menubar tab you will see a list of pulldown
menus
listed. Under the ACAD menus you will see a list. scroll thru the
list
and add the Windows Pulldown Menu.

File: Outlook.bmp
Valued Contributor
trumph
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎08-29-2003
Message 8 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: Missing Window pull down menu in A2K2.

08-13-2001 10:26 PM in reply to: trumph
Thanks everyone. I figured out what was happening. The MIS people installed AutoCAD 2002 in the R14 directory, and it was using the R14 menus, which did not include a Windows pulldown, since there was no need for it.



Thanks,

Tim Rumph

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!