AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
Valued Contributor
joneschester
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎06-08-2003
Message 1 of 7 (57 Views)

Hyperlink

57 Views, 6 Replies
10-22-2002 11:40 PM
Is there a way of attaching a hyperlink to an object without any path, so it always looks for the hyperlink file in the current directory.

The hyperlinkbase sysvar does seem to enable me to do this.

Any ideas

Cheers.
Valued Contributor
joneschester
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎06-08-2003
Message 2 of 7 (57 Views)

Re: Hyperlink

10-23-2002 12:01 AM in reply to: joneschester
Sorry the hyperlinkbase does NOT seem to enable me to do this.
*Lincoln, Tracy W.
Message 3 of 7 (57 Views)

Re: Hyperlink

10-23-2002 02:05 AM in reply to: joneschester
joneschester wrote:

> Is there a way of attaching a hyperlink to an object without any path,
> so it always looks for the hyperlink file in the current directory.

I typically strip out the hard path that the Browse... function tacks on
and replace it with the appropriate URL prefix (e.g.: file:/)
Also make sure you check "Relative Path" in the Hyperlink dialog box.

> The hyperlinkbase sysvar does seem to enable me to do this.

I think you want this to remain the default of none, which will (or is
supposed to) force the hyperlink to search within the same container as
the DWG with the hyperlink.

Last thing, you might want to EDIT existing Hyperlinks to do the above
and then test them with the GOTOURL command.

*******************************************************
Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
*******************************************************

Tracy Lincoln
Assistant Moderator, Autodesk Discussion Groups

Discussion Group Links:
Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules

Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
Knowledge Base: http://support.autodesk.com/ViewAnswerworks.asp
Downloads: http://support.autodesk.com/Downloads.asp
Valued Contributor
joneschester
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎06-08-2003
Message 4 of 7 (57 Views)

Re:

10-23-2002 11:36 PM in reply to: joneschester
Thanks for the feedback, but as I am moving the hyperlinked files from location to location I do not want any prefix on the hyperlinked filename, so it therefore searches in the current directory.

If I take out the hard path, then its adds the drawing path in the "Path:" above the "Use relative........" check box.

Any ideas
Thanks
*Lincoln, Tracy W.
Message 5 of 7 (57 Views)

Re:

10-24-2002 12:46 AM in reply to: joneschester
joneschester wrote:

> If I take out the hard path, then its adds the drawing path in the
> "Path:" above the "Use relative........" check box.

From the Help File(s):

Use Relative Path for Hyperlink

Sets a relative path for hyperlinks. If you select this option, the full
path to the linked file is not stored with the hyperlink. AutoCAD sets
the relative path to the value specified by the HYPERLINKBASE system
variable or, if no value is specified for HYPERLINKBASE, to the current
drawing path. If this option is cleared, the full path to the associated
file is stored with the hyperlink.

What I am saying is leave HYPERLINKBASE set to the default (nothing)
which forces the hyperlink to search the current folder.

And if you have the target file(s) (as you described you wanted to do)
within the same container as the DWG w/hyperlink what you need to do is
replace the path with the appropriate URL target prefix of file:// it
will open the file with the appropriate application associated with the
filetype from within the same container.

You also will need to update the Text to display area as that will
probably have file://your_original_path\filename.??? this is what shows
up at the cursor and can be whatever you want to display.

*******************************************************
Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
*******************************************************

Tracy Lincoln
Assistant Moderator, Autodesk Discussion Groups

Discussion Group Links:
Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules

Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
Knowledge Base: http://support.autodesk.com/ViewAnswerworks.asp
Downloads: http://support.autodesk.com/Downloads.asp
*Pandian, Ari
Message 6 of 7 (57 Views)

Re:

10-25-2002 06:23 AM in reply to: joneschester
How about relative pathing for X-references.
And how deep (folder subfolder) can relative references be done
Ari Pandian

"Tracy W. Lincoln" wrote in message
news:3DB815CD.DE94B443@iroquois.com...
> joneschester wrote:
>
> > If I take out the hard path, then its adds the drawing path in the
> > "Path:" above the "Use relative........" check box.
>
> From the Help File(s):
>
> Use Relative Path for Hyperlink
>
> Sets a relative path for hyperlinks. If you select this option, the full
> path to the linked file is not stored with the hyperlink. AutoCAD sets
> the relative path to the value specified by the HYPERLINKBASE system
> variable or, if no value is specified for HYPERLINKBASE, to the current
> drawing path. If this option is cleared, the full path to the associated
> file is stored with the hyperlink.
>
> What I am saying is leave HYPERLINKBASE set to the default (nothing)
> which forces the hyperlink to search the current folder.
>
> And if you have the target file(s) (as you described you wanted to do)
> within the same container as the DWG w/hyperlink what you need to do is
> replace the path with the appropriate URL target prefix of file:// it
> will open the file with the appropriate application associated with the
> filetype from within the same container.
>
> You also will need to update the Text to display area as that will
> probably have file://your_original_path\filename.??? this is what shows
> up at the cursor and can be whatever you want to display.
>
> *******************************************************
> Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
> *******************************************************
>
> Tracy Lincoln
> Assistant Moderator, Autodesk Discussion Groups
>
> Discussion Group Links:
> Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
> Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
>
> Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
> Knowledge Base: http://support.autodesk.com/ViewAnswerworks.asp
> Downloads: http://support.autodesk.com/Downloads.asp
>
>
Valued Contributor
joneschester
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎06-08-2003
Message 7 of 7 (57 Views)

Re:

12-13-2003 05:36 PM in reply to: joneschester
Excellent, thanks that worked.

Leaving hyperlinkbase as nothing, and then removing the path in the hyperlink dialog box, and selecting use relative.....
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.