AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 1 of 5 (129 Views)

Dimension text Spacing With Metric Units

129 Views, 4 Replies
11-26-2003 11:29 PM
When dimensioning in Metric (ie. millimetres), I use the Decimal units for my dimensions.

I am wondering if there is a way to either put a space or a comma after the thousands postion of the dimension text

For example, if I dimension an object that is 12.0m long, the text in millimetres comes out as 12000. I want it to either look like 12,000 OR 12 000

Anyone have any suggestions?

Distinguished Contributor
urugx
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 5 (129 Views)

Re: Dimension text Spacing With Metric Units

11-27-2003 09:03 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Since you want a different format than what's being offered to you by the software, you can either 1) edit each dimension as you do it 2)Write your own dimensioning command. I don't think there's a dimension variable setting that will give you what you want...I guess you know this already. Maybe someone else can deliver the miracle you need.
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 3 of 5 (129 Views)

Re:

11-29-2003 05:14 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Actually, a miracle worker DID come to my rescue with a simple technique as outlined below.

While modifying a dimstyle in the DDIM command, click on the PRIMARY UNITS tab, enter the following values:

Unit Format = Decimal

Precision = 0.000

Decial Separator = either "comma" or "space"

Round Off = 0.000

Measurement Scale Factor = 0.001

Zero Suppression = Leading: checked & Trailing: unchecked

Distinguished Contributor
urugx
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 5 (129 Views)

Re:

11-29-2003 09:39 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Is it really a miracle? Have you tried it and
look at the results? You must be dreaming...
you just change the decimal point to another
type comma or space and nothing else....
Better luck next time....Haste makes waste!
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 5 of 5 (129 Views)

Re:

11-30-2003 12:19 AM in reply to: murray-clack
First of all, the results worked for me. And second, I don't remember you providing anything useful except sarcasism. Therefore, who's wasting time now?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!