AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
Valued Contributor
pherridge
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-30-2003
Message 1 of 9 (167 Views)

Differences between on/off and freeze/thaw

167 Views, 8 Replies
03-30-2003 07:27 AM
Can anyone give me a definitive answer to the question: "What are the basic differences between on/off and freeze/thaw"?
*Bennett, Daniel
Message 2 of 9 (167 Views)

Re: Differences between on/off and freeze/thaw

03-30-2003 08:14 AM in reply to: pherridge
When you turn off a layer your machine still
generates it as if it were there and dosen't show it.  Alternatively when
you freeze a layer your machine doesn't generate it thus saving memory. 
The importance is when you want to turn them back on.

 

As you have probably noticed when you thaw a layer
your machine regenerates the drawing taking a few moments depending on the
complexity.  Alternatively if you had isolated a layer and then turned on
all the layers your machine will show them all without hesitation.

 

So in summary you want to use layon and layoff for
temporary layer manangement and then turn all layers back on.  You should
be saving the practice of freezing layers for the ones you don't want
on your finised drawing.

 

Dan.

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Can
anyone give me a definitive answer to the question: "What are the basic
differences between on/off and freeze/thaw"?
Valued Contributor
pherridge
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎11-30-2003
Message 3 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 08:27 AM in reply to: pherridge
Thanks for your prompt response Dan
*Lincoln, Tracy W.
Message 4 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 12:24 PM in reply to: pherridge
Excellent explaination Daniel,

A few other things also worth noting...

You can turn OFF the current layer, but you cannot FREEZE the current layer.
Which in the case of the current layer being OFF would be like drawing in
the dark, and in the case of the FREEZE, this allows you to isolate the
current layer quickly by freezing all the layers.

Also you can still select objects on an OFF layer, by using ALL as a
selection method, but not objects on a frozen layer (and this is true with a
FILTER. But technically you can still select objects on frozen layers by
using QSELECT and even modify them in th e Properties dialog box.

*******************************************************
Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
*******************************************************

Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program

Discussion Group Links:
Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
*Bennett, Daniel
Message 5 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 01:12 PM in reply to: pherridge
Thanks Tracy,

Another handy feature of having the current layer turned off is you can
quickly change similar objects to the current layer and have them disappear
from view. Thus you can be confident that you didn't miss any because you
can still see them if you have. This is great when you need to tidy an
architects drawing or when you discovered that you drew a whole load of duct
work on the text layer.

When you turn the layer back on all the items will be on the correct layer.
The advantage of having the current layer off is that you only get the
warning message that the current layer is turned off once as opposed to
getting it every time you move an object to a turned off layer.

Dan.


"Tracy W. Lincoln" wrote in message
news:3C6C8ECF124B730BF04C72210A3AE652@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Excellent explaination Daniel,
>
> A few other things also worth noting...
>
> You can turn OFF the current layer, but you cannot FREEZE the current
layer.
> Which in the case of the current layer being OFF would be like drawing in
> the dark, and in the case of the FREEZE, this allows you to isolate the
> current layer quickly by freezing all the layers.
>
> Also you can still select objects on an OFF layer, by using ALL as a
> selection method, but not objects on a frozen layer (and this is true with
a
> FILTER. But technically you can still select objects on frozen layers by
> using QSELECT and even modify them in th e Properties dialog box.
>
> *******************************************************
> Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
> *******************************************************
>
> Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
> Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program
>
> Discussion Group Links:
> Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
> Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
> Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
>
>
*Cooney, Art
Message 6 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 01:34 PM in reply to: pherridge
One other thing is that entites on an off layer will still participate in a
hide operation whereas entities on a frozen layer will not.

"Daniel Bennett" wrote in message
news:C30CC1781784B783A9823FEB6A35E175@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Thanks Tracy,
>
> Another handy feature of having the current layer turned off is you can
> quickly change similar objects to the current layer and have them
disappear
> from view. Thus you can be confident that you didn't miss any because you
> can still see them if you have. This is great when you need to tidy an
> architects drawing or when you discovered that you drew a whole load of
duct
> work on the text layer.
>
> When you turn the layer back on all the items will be on the correct
layer.
> The advantage of having the current layer off is that you only get the
> warning message that the current layer is turned off once as opposed to
> getting it every time you move an object to a turned off layer.
>
> Dan.
>
>
> "Tracy W. Lincoln" wrote in message
> news:3C6C8ECF124B730BF04C72210A3AE652@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Excellent explaination Daniel,
> >
> > A few other things also worth noting...
> >
> > You can turn OFF the current layer, but you cannot FREEZE the current
> layer.
> > Which in the case of the current layer being OFF would be like drawing
in
> > the dark, and in the case of the FREEZE, this allows you to isolate the
> > current layer quickly by freezing all the layers.
> >
> > Also you can still select objects on an OFF layer, by using ALL as a
> > selection method, but not objects on a frozen layer (and this is true
with
> a
> > FILTER. But technically you can still select objects on frozen layers
by
> > using QSELECT and even modify them in th e Properties dialog box.
> >
> > *******************************************************
> > Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
> > *******************************************************
> >
> > Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
> > Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program
> >
> > Discussion Group Links:
> > Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
> > Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
> > Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
> >
> >
>
>
*Webb, Andy
Message 7 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 08:49 PM in reply to: pherridge
There are some other issues regarding freezing and turning off layers when
using BLOCKS.
Say you have a drawing with entities on layers 1,2,3...etc
You then define a block comprising entities drawn on layers 1,2,3...etc.
You insert the block into the drawing on a layer called "Block1"

Turning off layer "1" will turn off all layer "1" entities on the drawing,
including those within the block.
The same will apply if you turn off layers 2,3...etc.
Turning off layer "Block1" will have no visible effect on the drawing as no
entities are drawn on that layer.
However, if you FREEZE layer "Block1" then all the entities that comprise
the block will be frozen from the drawing regardless of their actual layers.

I hope the above makes sense. If not, then try it out and all will become
clear as it can be very useful.

--
Andy Webb
AJ Webb Detailing Services

Art Cooney wrote in message
news:7DE92B848BC73084DA10EB7283445DBE@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> One other thing is that entites on an off layer will still participate in
a
> hide operation whereas entities on a frozen layer will not.
>
> "Daniel Bennett" wrote in message
> news:C30CC1781784B783A9823FEB6A35E175@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Thanks Tracy,
> >
> > Another handy feature of having the current layer turned off is you can
> > quickly change similar objects to the current layer and have them
> disappear
> > from view. Thus you can be confident that you didn't miss any because
you
> > can still see them if you have. This is great when you need to tidy an
> > architects drawing or when you discovered that you drew a whole load of
> duct
> > work on the text layer.
> >
> > When you turn the layer back on all the items will be on the correct
> layer.
> > The advantage of having the current layer off is that you only get the
> > warning message that the current layer is turned off once as opposed to
> > getting it every time you move an object to a turned off layer.
> >
> > Dan.
> >
> >
> > "Tracy W. Lincoln" wrote in message
> > news:3C6C8ECF124B730BF04C72210A3AE652@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Excellent explaination Daniel,
> > >
> > > A few other things also worth noting...
> > >
> > > You can turn OFF the current layer, but you cannot FREEZE the current
> > layer.
> > > Which in the case of the current layer being OFF would be like drawing
> in
> > > the dark, and in the case of the FREEZE, this allows you to isolate
the
> > > current layer quickly by freezing all the layers.
> > >
> > > Also you can still select objects on an OFF layer, by using ALL as a
> > > selection method, but not objects on a frozen layer (and this is true
> with
> > a
> > > FILTER. But technically you can still select objects on frozen layers
> by
> > > using QSELECT and even modify them in th e Properties dialog box.
> > >
> > > *******************************************************
> > > Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
> > > *******************************************************
> > >
> > > Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
> > > Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program
> > >
> > > Discussion Group Links:
> > > Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
> > > Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
> > > Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*Trost, Warren
Message 8 of 9 (167 Views)

Re:

03-30-2003 09:38 PM in reply to: pherridge
(ssget) will work with objects that are frozen but objects that are locked
will not be touched. This is handy if you are moving all objects to a new
location but have frozen layers.


"Tracy W. Lincoln" wrote in message
news:3C6C8ECF124B730BF04C72210A3AE652@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Excellent explaination Daniel,
>
> A few other things also worth noting...
>
> You can turn OFF the current layer, but you cannot FREEZE the current
layer.
> Which in the case of the current layer being OFF would be like drawing in
> the dark, and in the case of the FREEZE, this allows you to isolate the
> current layer quickly by freezing all the layers.
>
> Also you can still select objects on an OFF layer, by using ALL as a
> selection method, but not objects on a frozen layer (and this is true with
a
> FILTER. But technically you can still select objects on frozen layers by
> using QSELECT and even modify them in th e Properties dialog box.
>
> *******************************************************
> Please, DO NOT send technical requests to me via private e-mail
> *******************************************************
>
> Tracy W. Lincoln, Assistant Moderator
> Autodesk Discussion Groups Forum Moderator Program
>
> Discussion Group Links:
> Index: http://discussion.autodesk.com
> Rules: http://discussion.autodesk.com/webx?groundrules
> Product Support: http://support.autodesk.com/
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
chrisb
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 9 of 9 (167 Views)

Re: Differences between on/off and freeze/thaw

04-01-2003 12:08 AM in reply to: pherridge
Freezing layers in certain viewports so that their objects don't show in those viewports, but appear in others that you do want them to show in, is also a very handy feature that cannot be done with On/Off. Surprised nobody else mentioned that.
-Chris
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.