AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
Contributor
betsy
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-05-2010
Message 21 of 45 (13,501 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

12-02-2010 12:32 PM in reply to: jdoverman

We're using LDD3 on Windows 7 32-bit via the virtual Windows XP download.  However, our plotter won't work.  We've installed the plotter in Windows 7 and can print to it from other programs but can't print from LDD3.  We've tried using the Plotter Manager and add-a-plotter wizard, but it doesn't see the plotter.  Anybody else having plotter problems like this and/or know of a fix?  Thanks.

 

 

New Member
microse
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-22-2011
Message 22 of 45 (12,800 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

01-22-2011 05:03 AM in reply to: betsy

When I updated os to windows 7 professional  32 bit I had no problem installing and running Autocad2000LT but could not print.When tried to select connected printesr Canon MP190 and HP D1560 " Menory allaocation error-Drivers not found etc etc". All other programs print with no problems.  Reading other peoples similar problems it seems this is a common problem. Is there a simple solution?

 

Mike

New Member
bgochoel
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-17-2011
Message 23 of 45 (11,032 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7 64-bit

06-17-2011 10:46 AM in reply to: betsy

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7 64-bit

Contributor
durielk
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-28-2004
Message 24 of 45 (9,775 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

10-28-2011 01:09 PM in reply to: betsy

I have W7 64 bit, ACAD 2000 will run in virtual mode, but that is a special download from microsoft.  It creates another virtual OS on your computer.  It is a pain to work on that computer as when you look at the hard drive to find files, etc. when your in not in the V OS, you can't see them from w7.

 

From the other posts it appears that if you have W7 32bit, it should work with out this go-around. 

Contributor
durielk
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-28-2004
Message 25 of 45 (9,770 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

10-28-2011 06:47 PM in reply to: jdoverman

On the printing issue, I have the same problem, but....

 

I just print pdf's, full size then send them to the printer from the desktop.  It is not really a problem and you can look at them before they plot to check how they look or for some error or something. 

 

Also, you can have them on your computer or netbook and just open them up any time!

New Member
popsgolf58
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 26 of 45 (9,588 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

11-22-2011 05:09 AM in reply to: jdoverman

Hey Jeff!!!   (or anyone out there) :-)

   I noticed your post regarding running AutoCad 2000 on WIndows7 was back in 2009. Well here it is 11/22/2011 and I am just now moving up to the 21st century LOL I have been using AutoCad 2000 on Windows 2000 and than XP and now have upgraded to Windows7 Ultimate. Would you be able to go thru the compatibility scenario to be able to run AutCad2000 on Windows7 and yes very interested on the plotter drivers for the HP 750c. Thanks in advance and have a Happy and Joyess Thanksgiving!!!

Member
bodenimus
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 27 of 45 (9,579 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

11-22-2011 01:30 PM in reply to: popsgolf58

I never could get my AutoCad to run using Windows 7 so I just used another computer with Windows XP just to use AutoCad 2000. I read about all kinds of ways around the issue, all of which were more trouble than it was worth. It was a lot cheaper and easier to  just use another computer and completely bypass Windows 7. I use a KVM switch to  change from one computer to  the other which allows me to use the same keyboard and monitor and mouse, with two different computers. Sorry that I couldn't be of more help but this was the simplest solution for me.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,228
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 28 of 45 (9,383 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

12-12-2011 05:41 PM in reply to: bodenimus
think about how old autocad 2000 is
New Member
popsgolf58
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 29 of 45 (9,359 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

12-13-2011 10:30 AM in reply to: betsy

OK here's the latest on running AutoCad2000 on WIndows7. I was surprised no one else hit on the fact that AutoCad2000 is a 32 bit application. As I mentioned earlier I upgraded to Windows7 Ultimate and what do you know it gave me the option to install as a 32bit operating system. All being said AutoCad2000 is working just fine,

   If you buy a new desktop/laptop it will most likely come with Windows7 64 bit. If you buy Windows7 retail you will have the option to install either 32 or 64 bit.   Hope this helps.

Contributor
ivanbulaich
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
Message 30 of 45 (8,780 Views)

Re: Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

01-24-2012 02:59 PM in reply to: jdoverman

Good Afternoon JDOverman,

   Here I've been trying to get Autocad 2000LT working on my new computer with Windows 7 32 bit for 4 days now, and no luck. So I'm communicating with two guys on the Autocad 2000LT forum who are really trying to help, when they recommend looking through the Autocad 2000 forum posts. So I look through every post until I come upon yours. I follow you directions and shazam everything is working and I am able to print with no "memory allocation errors"!!!!!!!!

  It is amazing how much negative misinformation I have received from people on this problem, Autocad 2000LT is not supported, there are no fixes, the printer drivers are not functional with Windows 7 and Autocad 2000LT,  it is not compatible with Windows 7, etc........, and then I find your post.

   And even more amazing you find a way to run Autocad 2000 on Windows 7 64 bit, which everyone told me was impossible. I would have purchased a 64 bit computer in a minute if I had known it would operate Autocad 2000LT.

   The power of perservance and ingenuity!!!!!!

    Just wanted to Thank You for your effort it stopped me from the insanity of frustration.

     Wishing You the Very Best in the New Year!!!!!!!

       Very Best Regards,

           Ivan

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.