ASE, SQL, OLE, ADE

ASE, SQL, OLE, ADE

Reply
*Urban, Peter
Message 1 of 9 (173 Views)

VBA run-time error opening database in AutoCAD 2000

173 Views, 8 Replies
01-21-2000 02:58 PM
We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application opens an
Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library reference. We
have found several computers at the clients site that produce the following
error:
"Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"

The application stops at the following line:
Set dbLayout = Workspaces(0).OpenDatabase(strDbPath)

This same application has worked fine on many computers (Win98 and NT). We
have tried installing/re-installing AutoCAD 2000 and Microsoft Office 97 in
different orders with no luck.

Another application that is a Visual Basic .EXE (opening the same databse)
called from a VBA macro works fine on these computers. However the VBA
appllications using this databse error out on these computers.

Please help.
*Fleming, Jon
Message 2 of 9 (173 Views)

Re: VBA run-time error opening database in AutoCAD 2000

01-22-2000 04:42 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on the AutoCAD
2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would probably
suggest that you install that one because they know that one works with
AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.

Jrf
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application opens an
> Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library reference. We
> have found several computers at the clients site that produce the following
> error:
> "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
*Urban, Peter
Message 3 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

01-27-2000 11:06 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
We have tried this and it did not work. Any other suggestions would be
helpful. Thanks.

Jon Fleming wrote in message
news:VA.00000bbc.0caacbb3@fleming-group.com...
> You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
> http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on the
AutoCAD
> 2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would
probably
> suggest that you install that one because they know that one works with
> AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.
>
> Jrf
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
> In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application opens
an
> > Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library
reference. We
> > have found several computers at the clients site that produce the
following
> > error:
> > "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
>
>
*Fleming, Jon
Message 4 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

01-27-2000 02:53 PM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
Are you absolutely sure that the value of strDbPath is a valid value when
that line executes?

You could try re-writing your app to use ADO instead of DAO, but that is
probably a lot of work and I have no idea what chance of success there would
be.

jrf
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

In article <86q50v$cs724@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> We have tried this and it did not work. Any other suggestions would be
> helpful. Thanks.
>
>
>
> Jon Fleming wrote in message
> news:VA.00000bbc.0caacbb3@fleming-group.com...
> > You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
> > http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on the
> AutoCAD
> > 2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would
> probably
> > suggest that you install that one because they know that one works with
> > AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.
> >
> > Jrf
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> >
> > In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > > We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application opens
> an
> > > Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library
> reference. We
> > > have found several computers at the clients site that produce the
> following
> > > error:
> > > "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
> >
> >
>
*Urban, Peter
Message 5 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

01-31-2000 07:10 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
Yes, I am sure the path is correct. The same code works fine on every other
computer we've tried, except for two (so far). Re-writing the code for ADO
is not really an option here. The two computers that didn't work were new
machines, out of the box. They had NT and AutoCAD (one had MS Office 97). So
far, nothing I've found from Microsoft has worked either. Has anyone else
had this happen?

Thanks.

Jon Fleming wrote in message
news:VA.00000bc2.09be5291@fleming-group.com...
> Are you absolutely sure that the value of strDbPath is a valid value when
> that line executes?
>
> You could try re-writing your app to use ADO instead of DAO, but that is
> probably a lot of work and I have no idea what chance of success there
would
> be.
>
> jrf
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
> In article <86q50v$cs724@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > We have tried this and it did not work. Any other suggestions would be
> > helpful. Thanks.
> >
> >
> >
> > Jon Fleming wrote in message
> > news:VA.00000bbc.0caacbb3@fleming-group.com...
> > > You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
> > > http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on the
> > AutoCAD
> > > 2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would
> > probably
> > > suggest that you install that one because they know that one works
with
> > > AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.
> > >
> > > Jrf
> > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > >
> > > In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > > > We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application
opens
> > an
> > > > Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library
> > reference. We
> > > > have found several computers at the clients site that produce the
> > following
> > > > error:
> > > > "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
> > >
> > >
> >
>
>
*Mooney, Andy
Message 6 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

02-22-2000 08:00 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
I am having the same problem. This was posted on vba group.
http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q185/1/26.ASP
Evidently it is an NT4 only problem. I still haven't remedy my situation.
Please let me know if you find a solution. Thanks Andy
Peter Urban wrote in message
news:8748nb$abn18@adesknews2.autodesk.com...
> Yes, I am sure the path is correct. The same code works fine on every
other
> computer we've tried, except for two (so far). Re-writing the code for ADO
> is not really an option here. The two computers that didn't work were new
> machines, out of the box. They had NT and AutoCAD (one had MS Office 97).
So
> far, nothing I've found from Microsoft has worked either. Has anyone else
> had this happen?
>
> Thanks.
>
>
> Jon Fleming wrote in message
> news:VA.00000bc2.09be5291@fleming-group.com...
> > Are you absolutely sure that the value of strDbPath is a valid value
when
> > that line executes?
> >
> > You could try re-writing your app to use ADO instead of DAO, but that is
> > probably a lot of work and I have no idea what chance of success there
> would
> > be.
> >
> > jrf
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> >
> > In article <86q50v$cs724@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > > We have tried this and it did not work. Any other suggestions would be
> > > helpful. Thanks.
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Jon Fleming wrote in message
> > > news:VA.00000bbc.0caacbb3@fleming-group.com...
> > > > You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
> > > > http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on the
> > > AutoCAD
> > > > 2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would
> > > probably
> > > > suggest that you install that one because they know that one works
> with
> > > > AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.
> > > >
> > > > Jrf
> > > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > >
> > > > In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban
wrote:
> > > > > We are working on a VBA application for a client. The application
> opens
> > > an
> > > > > Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library
> > > reference. We
> > > > > have found several computers at the clients site that produce the
> > > following
> > > > > error:
> > > > > "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*Urban, Peter
Message 7 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

02-29-2000 08:27 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
This issues has not been resolved. We have searched through many Microsoft
articles and tried many proposed fixes. So far nothing has worked. Recently,
we have run into good old error 429 on a Windows 95 machine. Again, we can
not figure out the cause. Please help.

Thanks,
Peter Urban

Andy Mooney wrote in message
news:88ubr6$3je10@adesknews2.autodesk.com...
> I am having the same problem. This was posted on vba group.
> http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q185/1/26.ASP
> Evidently it is an NT4 only problem. I still haven't remedy my situation.
> Please let me know if you find a solution. Thanks Andy
> Peter Urban wrote in message
> news:8748nb$abn18@adesknews2.autodesk.com...
> > Yes, I am sure the path is correct. The same code works fine on every
> other
> > computer we've tried, except for two (so far). Re-writing the code for
ADO
> > is not really an option here. The two computers that didn't work were
new
> > machines, out of the box. They had NT and AutoCAD (one had MS Office
97).
> So
> > far, nothing I've found from Microsoft has worked either. Has anyone
else
> > had this happen?
> >
> > Thanks.
> >
> >
> > Jon Fleming wrote in message
> > news:VA.00000bc2.09be5291@fleming-group.com...
> > > Are you absolutely sure that the value of strDbPath is a valid value
> when
> > > that line executes?
> > >
> > > You could try re-writing your app to use ADO instead of DAO, but that
is
> > > probably a lot of work and I have no idea what chance of success there
> > would
> > > be.
> > >
> > > jrf
> > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > >
> > > In article <86q50v$cs724@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban wrote:
> > > > We have tried this and it did not work. Any other suggestions would
be
> > > > helpful. Thanks.
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Jon Fleming wrote in message
> > > > news:VA.00000bbc.0caacbb3@fleming-group.com...
> > > > > You might try downloading and installing the latest MDAC from
> > > > > http://www.microsoft.com/data. There is also a copy of MDAC on
the
> > > > AutoCAD
> > > > > 2000 disk somewhere (mdac_typ.exe), and an Autodesk employee would
> > > > probably
> > > > > suggest that you install that one because they know that one works
> > with
> > > > > AutoCAD. However, it's a little old by now.
> > > > >
> > > > > Jrf
> > > > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > > >
> > > > > In article <86aobc$76924@adesknews2.autodesk.com>, Peter Urban
> wrote:
> > > > > > We are working on a VBA application for a client. The
application
> > opens
> > > > an
> > > > > > Access 97 database using the Microsoft DAO 3.51 Object Library
> > > > reference. We
> > > > > > have found several computers at the clients site that produce
the
> > > > following
> > > > > > error:
> > > > > > "Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*>, Hugo Valderhaug
Message 8 of 9 (173 Views)

Re:

03-15-2000 01:23 AM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
"Run-time error 429 - ActiveX component can't create object"

Maybe a registry / licencing key problem?
(all DAO dll's may be installed, but no licence key available).
In some cases adding the DAO licence key to NT registry has been sufficient,
in a few cases I have reinstalled DAO drivers. Never tried on W95.

I have seen the same behaviour with DAO from AutoCAD VBA,
and with DAO from MS Access code - not only as an Excel problem
as described in kb-article below.

Check address below for description and causes of problem,
and for instructions for manually adding DAO licence key
http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q189/6/07.asp
Subj: DAO Error After Installing Visual Basic DAO Application

Hope this may help
regards
Hugo Valderhaug

Peter Urban wrote in msg<89gs1c$rv16@adesknews2.autodesk.com>...
>This issues has not been resolved. We have searched through many Microsoft
>articles and tried many proposed fixes. So far nothing has worked.
Recently,
>we have run into good old error 429 on a Windows 95 machine. Again, we can
>not figure out the cause. Please help.
>
>Thanks,
>Peter Urban
>
>
>Andy Mooney wrote in message
>news:88ubr6$3je10@adesknews2.autodesk.com...
>> I am having the same problem. This was posted on vba group.
>> http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q185/1/26.ASP
>> Evidently it is an NT4 only problem. I still haven't remedy my situation.
>> Please let me know if you find a solution. Thanks Andy
....
New Member
mmorgan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2000
Message 9 of 9 (173 Views)

Re: VBA run-time error opening database in AutoCAD 2000

05-03-2000 05:34 PM in reply to: *Urban, Peter
Peter,

I see this is rather old so with luck you have solved your problem. If not I may have a solution based on a similar situation. I had a VB app that ran *flawlessly* on 99.999 of the desktops I put it on. Except for 1 then there were 2 same error although mine was happening when I created an instantiantion of a Word object. Oddly, I could only duplicate the error on laptops that did not have VB (in one version or another) installed and were running Win98. The error was a missing version of (I believe) VBA50.dll. I discovered this by pasting my code out of the VB app into a Word VBA function and ran it which GPF'd me an all but also came up with the missing file spec (like I say my recollection is that it is VBA50.dll)> I copied the file to the windows\system directory on the offending laptops and that, as they say, was that.

Hope this helps you out.

Michael
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.