Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[HELP] Creating IK Handles

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
panagiotisbaxevanos
922 Views, 1 Reply

[HELP] Creating IK Handles

Version: Maya 2015

Hey guys, I am new to Maya trying to learn on a model that was rigged by a friend. This is all purely for educational purposes to teach myself and work within a personal Zelda remake project in Unreal Engine. Needless to say I am a noobie in animation and have been studying on it heavily the past 2 months as I want to creating my own customer player pawn. I am however running into an issue creating IK handles to assist in animation. I get the following error when trying to create Rotate-Planar Solver IK Handles (I read for legs, arms, spine, and neck this is the best option) "// Error: line 1: The selected items must be from the same skeletal chain." *Pictured below* I am trying to go from the joint at the hip to his toes and from his collar to his wrists to assist in easier animation. Any clue what I can change in the skeletal chain, or can someone explain what this error means? Any good resources or videos on this process would be heavily appreciated! I included some pics attached to show the skeletal chain for the parts I mentioned. I've spent hours trying to figure this out 😞

Thank you all for taking the time to read :)!

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2