Community
Alias Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Alias Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Alias topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's wrong with my G2 patch strategy?

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
eobet
1300 Views, 9 Replies

What's wrong with my G2 patch strategy?

I've been using Alias for many years (as a student), but I still take way to long time with seemingly basic stuff:

Capture.PNG

As you can see, I'm trying to fill in the blanks between nice, single span, 5 degree surfaces, which up until this point I have had no problems with cotinuity or uneven CV distribution.

But it's always the last small holes which get me. The top one has crazy spans, and on the bottom when I tried explicit control, it naturally failed and when I try manual alignment I get this (the blend curves were attached at 45 degrees because I didn't think that narrowing a patch to be infinitly thin would work, as the align tool suggests in the image).

Can anyone just draw a few colored outlines suggesting how I should have gone about this, or perhaps have some profound basic tip that I might have missed?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
TheHangman
in reply to: eobet

Hey eobet

In my point of view, your patch surf. it way to big, making it way too complex, leaving you with not enough control CVS and as you may know the more CVS you add the heavier become the geometry and its difficulty to control remining in this case you only need 3 hulls per side giving you 5x5 patch surface. 

I have drawn something for you hope it helps. Again, if you can not get it right share only these surfaces, so I can have a go for you and give a better analyse of the situation.

Regards

If this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution". Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! Smiley Happy
Message 3 of 10
eobet
in reply to: TheHangman