Community
Alias Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Alias Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Alias topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tutorial - MP3-player intersecting and trimming

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
jms
Participant
1144 Views, 7 Replies

Tutorial - MP3-player intersecting and trimming

Hi, 

I am just starting out with Alias 2014 and doing the tutorials. Right now I am trying to make the MP3-player, but I get stuck in the section about: adding the control button. I am supposed to make to items intersect and afterwards trim them, but when I try to pick the draft surfaces and the revolved surfaces for intersecting nothing happens. Does anybody have any ideas about why that is? 

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
ravenzep
in reply to: jms

Hi,

Can you please send the wire file with just the 2 surfaces you want to intersect?

I ll have a look if you can send it.

Regards

Message 3 of 8
jms
Participant
in reply to: ravenzep

Hi, 

Thank you but I am not sure how to send it? I can't upload it here. 

Message 4 of 8
ravenzep

Hi,

You can upload to sendspace, for example, or any other server of the same genre, and paste download link here.

Message 5 of 8
jms
Participant

Okay didn't think of that. Here is the link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/nfkx4y

Message 6 of 8
ravenzep

Hi,

I had a look at your problem.

Everything trims fine, if I understood where you want to trim.

I trimmed that part of surface that is overhanging. Here is what I did, maybe you didnt follow the right procedures for trimming.

Delete everything and just leave the surfaces visible. If u have curves on surface, delete them.

Select TRIM, and activate 3D trimming. Choose method to INTERSECTION.