Alias General Discussion

Active Contributor
sciguy77
Message 1 of 5 (166 Views)

Sheet metal?

166 Views, 4 Replies
02-09-2012 08:18 PM

So, my PC crashed and along with it went my copy of Autodesk Inventor. :smileysad:

For now I'm using my mac, which has Alias, but to be honest I've never used Alias before. Can I create a sheet metal design to be CNC cut? I just need to do a super simple sketch done. Is there a tutorial on using Alias for sheet metal cuts?

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
donest
Message 2 of 5 (156 Views)

Re: Sheet metal?

02-15-2012 10:44 AM in reply to: sciguy77

You should be able to create designs using CV curves and/or Edit point curves. A lot of laser cutters can use a simple dxf file to cut metal. In Alias just export the file as a dxf.

Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Message 3 of 5 (143 Views)

02-20-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: donest

No, you can´t.

Alias is a surface modeller.

What you want to do is solid modelling, and alias doesnt work that way. Thank god.

Regards. 

Distinguished Contributor
donest
Message 4 of 5 (135 Views)

02-21-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: sciguy77

Hey ravenzip. I think you took his question to mean that he wanted to cnc a 3D model. I took it to mean he only wants to cut shapes from flat sheet metal. Many cnc programs will work from line art. For example, if you wanted to cut a star shape out of a flat sheet. There are laser cutters that will work directly from Illustrator files.

Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Message 5 of 5 (131 Views)

02-22-2012 04:35 AM in reply to: donest

Hi Donest, hope everything is cool with you:smileyhappy:

Sure, i know what you mean.

Sheet metal is a module of good solid modelers like Catia or NX, i dont know about Inventor because i dont use it at all.

It s a very weird program to me with all that apparent simplicity.

Anyway, Alias is not parameterized as such tools, that s what i wanted to make clear to him.