Alias General Discussion

Alias General Discussion

Reply
Employee
220 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Post 51 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-10-2012 06:14 PM in reply to: klzsailing

Thanks for the info klzsailing. That is a cool model. You can try using a greater mesh resolution but I'm not sure if you will be able to see the different shading on either side of that zero thickness 3D sail. For the time being probably best to stick with volumetric representation if that's what you are looking to visualize.

 

As for scaling, that is good feedback. For now one quick thing you can do to measure things is move the 2D slice through the model. For example, on the sample car model, you can position the slice on one side and view the position (~170in) and then drag it to the other side (dat~235in) and quickly figure that the model width is 65 inches, ie full scale for this car.

Employee
220 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Post 52 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-10-2012 06:25 PM in reply to: johnfrater

John - that should be the latest download. If it fails immediately on startup, might be worth updating the graphics driver. Another thing you might try is going to the Falcon installation folder and deleting the "settings.ini" file since that will start Falcon running from a clean slate with all defaults.

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-28-2009
Post 53 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-10-2012 06:59 PM in reply to: hartogj

I see all 8 cores of my processor oscillation up and down, the Not Responding is not instant, it will take about 3-5 seconds for this to happen.  I have tried deleting the settings.ini file with no luck.  CPU usage hovering around the 40% mark.

John Frater

HP Elitebook 8570W
nVidia Quadro K2000M
16Gb Ram
i7-3720

Drive it like you stole it.
Employee
220 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Post 54 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-11-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: johnfrater

Hey John - that CPU usage is normal but the stability issue is not. I've just sent you a message - let's connect offline to resolve this if you like.

Employee
220 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Post 55 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-12-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: hartogj

Just an update for the benefit of others reading this thread. johnfrater's issue should be rare but if you happen to see similar behavior:

 

1) Change the Shader option to "0" in the "settings.ini" file in your Falcon installation folder:

 

[Settings]
Reset=0
Shader=0

UI=0
Velocity-X=10.000000
Velocity-Y=-0.000100

...

 

2) Start Falcon and see if that resolves the problem

 

3) Here on the forum let us know if you had the issue and if this resolution worked.

 

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-19-2012
Post 56 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-19-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: hartogj

Hi,

 

I am a bit confused about the relationship of airflow direction and 2d slice direction in a given model; if they are not parallel, I assume the behavior as visualized in the slice still reflects airflow in that 2d section based on chosen wind speed and direction, however how is that useful? To ask the other way around- why can't the 2d slice be tilted / rotated freely, so that I could always make it correspond with the given wind direction and am looking at the "matched" slice I am most interested in!

 

Thanks & best wishes,

 

Max

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-03-2012
Post 57 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-19-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: maxdee

maxdee, that's a good point. To partialy solve that, I just rotate the model before importing into Falcon. Not practical but can't figure another way by now. Anyway, you can't rotate the floor to accompany your model...

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-19-2012
Post 58 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-20-2012 03:07 AM in reply to: klzsailing

yea, rotating (unless you're using a horizontal 2d slice) is the only option I see, too...

On another note, I can reliably crash Falcon by e.g. modifying the volume box handles; and weird enough, changing model scale to another unti can also result in crashes despite the geometry itself not changing..

It is a lovely tool, though. I'd love to see it developed further; if the authors are interested, I could perhaps use it in one of my classes and give you some more feedback.

Employee
220 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Post 59 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-20-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: hartogj

Thanks for the feedback maxdee. Yes, right now the 2D slices are at fixed orientations relative to the grid. For now, you would need to turn the CAD model to look at flow on 2D slice at a skewed angle.

 

Regarding the crashing issue, there were some updates implemented after the initial release in response to what some folks were seeing on their machines. The latest build was posted on 9/4 so might be worth checking to see if you have the latest. 

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
Post 60 of 64

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

09-24-2012 06:42 PM in reply to: hartogj

Thanks for the good work with Falcon. I am happy that this software is evolving nicely. I will like to ask if  there is a possibility in the near future to have the suggestions on metrics outlined before and the classical 2 axis plus moment coefficients, of course I am sure you can handle it because drag is already in. There will be nice to have some degree of control over variables relevant to cfd, i.e. of turbulence modelling control... for example. Batch modes to be able to run velocity vector angles.

 

I do not know for sure but the way the soft performs seems that it is LBM based, is it ?

 

Thanks.

Claud

Mac 8 core, 12gig, ATI 5870 1gvram

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post