Alias General Discussion

Alias General Discussion

Reply
New Member
hm50
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 11 of 64 (717 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-05-2011 07:30 AM in reply to: csegard

Hello,

you can account for other fluid properties via the Reynolds number (see Wikipedia, e.g.).

Regards

Herb

 

 

xet
New Member
xet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 12 of 64 (690 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-08-2011 09:23 AM in reply to: hm50

Hi,

 

I can not download the "ProjectFalcon.zip" after the login. I receive the error message : Referral Denied  You don´t have permission to access ........

 

And I did not find any help about that anywhere.

 

What's wrong?

 

Thank you

Thomas

Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 13 of 64 (680 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-09-2011 05:22 AM in reply to: xet

The Autodesk download servers make sure that the download request is coming from an Autodesk web page. So the download referrer has to have an autodesk.com domain. When thsi fails, it normally means that there is something unusual with your browser or processing of cookies on your machine. If you email me directly, I can help you out.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
xet
New Member
xet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 14 of 64 (668 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-10-2011 08:47 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Thank you for the tip. I tried Opera instead of Firefox an it worked. Maybe my Firefox settings are too rigorous.

 

Regards

Thomas

New Member
allenhung
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 15 of 64 (657 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-12-2011 02:18 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

today I test the software with our areo engineer and we think the software need some update.

 

1.the voxel size is too big that will cause the result is much different from the true one, for our experience that the Voxel size attache the math data should set 1x1x15mm. need set 5 layers.then there are 5mm cover the math data. and the outer zone we set the Voxel size is 5x5x15mm. 5 layers. then 15x15x15mm, 5 layers.  then 40x40x40mm,5layers. then 60x60x60mm, 5layers. the rest set is 80x80x80mm. so we think the software only one voxel size will cause the resault too rough otherwise will cause the caculate time too huge. we suggest the Voxel size set needs be more clever according the math model shape. that is the better way to balance the accurat and the time.

 

2. after we can set the voxel size according the distance to the math data. that will inprove the accurate of the result but will cause huge calulate time, or let the computer broke down, so we suggest these kind of  software develop the GPU+Net+CUP ability. we think the GPU is the first one that you need to think of it. it will help this kind of software improve the accurate, which is the only value of the software.

 

3. we suggest that the software have the mirror plane fuction, with will make the caculate time reduce to half. because in the automative area. most of the data is sysmetic.

 

we think it is the good plug-in for us, we hope you to make good progress. thank you.

New Member
allenhung
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 16 of 64 (654 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-12-2011 02:33 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

we think it is a good plug-in for alias but need some improvement.

 

1. the voxel size should be more clever. in this software the voxel size is too big that will cause the resault is not accurate. and if we set a small voxel size, that our workstation will break down. we suggest that the voxel size set can be more clever. for our experience, we set the voxel size 1x1x15mm attache the math data. 5 layers, that is 5mm. then 5x5x15mm,5 layters, then 15x15x15mm, 5 layers, then 40x40x40mm,5layers, then 60x60x60mm, 5 layers, then 80x80x80mm for the rest. of cause you can change it if you find a good way, we just think it should have some clever method such like the SUBMESH in other polygon 3D software that will permit the accurate and dont cause too much caculation.

 

2.we suggest the plug-in have the GPU power, that will make the software balance the accurate and the time more easy. GPU+CPU+NET will be the best way if you can.

 

3. we suggest that the softwar have the mirror plane function, that will cause the caculate time reduce to half. because in automotive area, most the math data is symmetric.

 

holp you can make more progress. many thanks.

New Member
BrendanBennett
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-14-2011
Message 17 of 64 (644 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

12-14-2011 11:57 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

I see the cd and drag force are there, with the drag force obviously mathematicallly linked with the cd through size, speed, density, etc. 

 

Is the software capable of generating downforce numbers as good as the drag numbers? Perhaps more importantly, is it able to give downforce numbers at given points (at each wheel/pair)? Another thing that can be vitally important is the center of pressure. 

 

It's all well and good to go for low drag; but if the center of pressure is underneath the front wheels then you're in trouble.

New Member
jamsterpro
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 18 of 64 (612 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

01-04-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: BrendanBennett

I cant seem to rotate the model. I am using it as a stand alone piece of software, and when I import an stl it always positions it with the nose cone in the air, and the compass on the same plane as the front of the nose cone. This means I cant get the windflow flowing over the car, just from the left side to right or vice versa. And when I try and open the online help it says that there is nothing in it. Help!

Active Member
ABukowski
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 19 of 64 (571 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

01-20-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: jamsterpro

Unfortunately I cannot open any STL files.

 

Using as standalone, 64-bit version on Vista 64 Professional.

 

When I choose 'Open STL FIle' the animation spins for a couple of seconds and then presents an error and suggests checking the file name.  This is the same for any model including the example files.

 

I shall try updating drivers etc and hopefully try the 32-bit version on another machine.

 

Looking forward to getting this working, looks like a nice bit of software.

Active Member
ABukowski
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 20 of 64 (556 Views)

Re: Project Falcon Technology Preview now available on Autodesk Labs

01-23-2012 01:39 AM in reply to: ABukowski

I fixed my above problem by updating my Nvidia drivers; seems that they were a little outdated.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!