Alias General Discussion

Alias General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 1 of 11 (509 Views)
Accepted Solution

Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

509 Views, 10 Replies
08-24-2013 11:51 AM

I've had a few examples lately when I have a surface that will refuse to trim despite all my indicators being "green."  Sometimes I can extend COS here and there and stumble onto something that will successfully trim, but other times it just will not trim as it should.  Since all indicators are green, I have no idea where to look for the problem so it's just trial-and-error.

 

But, every time I run into that, I'm able to - without changing anything else - successfully use Trim > Divide and it works like a charm.  So, my question is what's different between Trim > Discard/Keep and Trim > Divide that lets the same COS work on one and not the other?

 

I tried to export a surface and it's associated COS that demonstrates this issue - but the exported piece trims just fine.  Go figure.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB

I just noticed the left side doesnt trim... Do this:

Go to object edit and chose extend with extrapolate on and merge on. Click each end of the COS and extend. You will see the manipulator moving, but  the cos doesnt go past the edge of surface.

After you have extended both sides, try triming now.

WORKS !

 

Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 2 of 11 (491 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-25-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: MikahB

Hi,

Are you using CATIA V5 tolerance settings?

If not, try the failed trim with Catia V5 tolerances.

 

 

Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 3 of 11 (486 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-25-2013 09:03 AM in reply to: ravenzep

Sorry - should have included that: yes, I am using Catia V5 tolerances at all times.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 4 of 11 (477 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-26-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: MikahB

Upon further review of your suggestion, ravenzep - I had actually selected CATIA V5_CORE_HPP as my construction preset.  Seems the COS/Trim limits are 0.001mm on everything.

 

I switched it to regular old CATIA V5 which has 0.100mm for trim tolerance and viola - seems like everything trims as expected now!  So, did I have my construction settings down at the lower limit of what the software can even think about?  That would explain why I see green dots all the time but no trimming.  May also explain why I so often had successful trims that seemingly changed their mind and decided to fail later down the line.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 5 of 11 (476 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-26-2013 04:03 PM in reply to: MikahB

Seems my excitement was premature.  Though all of the trims that I could not previously make work DO work now, one that I never had trouble with before simply will not trim regardless of my construction settings.  The piece towards the back will trim off okay, but I cannot get the front strip to separate from the middle strip no matter what I do.

 

The only "good" news is that I exported the surface and even as a standalone wire file, it doesn't work and I can't seem to make it work even forcing it to Trim > Divide.  Can anyone else let me know if it trims for them?  I'm trying to keep the middle strip of the 3.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 6 of 11 (465 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-27-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: MikahB

There is no problem at all with the trim. Trims just fine.

Go to your trim options, and make sure you have PROJECTION activated, and not INTERSECTION.

In Vector Options, chose NORMAL.

 

It should trim without any problem.

Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 7 of 11 (465 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-27-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: ravenzep

I just noticed the left side doesnt trim... Do this:

Go to object edit and chose extend with extrapolate on and merge on. Click each end of the COS and extend. You will see the manipulator moving, but  the cos doesnt go past the edge of surface.

After you have extended both sides, try triming now.

WORKS !

 

Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 8 of 11 (460 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-27-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: ravenzep

ravenzep wrote:

There is no problem at all with the trim. Trims just fine.

Go to your trim options, and make sure you have PROJECTION activated, and not INTERSECTION.

In Vector Options, chose NORMAL.

 

It should trim without any problem.


Thanks for writing back.  I had NOT been using 3D Trimming, but at your suggestion turned it back on and set it as you suggest.  See attached pictures - I get exactly the same result, no trimming.  Any other thoughts?

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 9 of 11 (456 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-27-2013 07:52 AM in reply to: ravenzep

Great - the only downside to that method is that my construction history gets broken and that front trim is a looooooong fillet that I'd like to keep intact.  I had tried Extending those COS, but not with Merge selected.

 

For now, I've just duplicated the whole surface, used your suggestion to trim the copy, and will keep plugging away.  Thank you so much!!

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Valued Mentor
ravenzep
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 10 of 11 (452 Views)

Re: Functional Differences Between Trim and Trim Divide?

08-27-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: MikahB

You are welcome.

For such simple kind of trim, there should be no problem to trim.

Maybe you did some little mistake upstream that went unnoticed, and is causing this weird problems.

 

Good luck.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.