Alias General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
donest
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 1 of 14 (554 Views)
Accepted Solution

copying prefs

554 Views, 13 Replies
10-24-2011 10:21 AM

We upgraded my machine from 32-bit Win XP Pro to Win7 64-bit. I saved all of my preferences from the old install. Will they work on 64-bit? Mostly, I'm concerned with marking menus and hot keys.

Hello donnest,

 

Please refer to the Article out of the Alias Knowledge Base.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13645058&linkID=12268768

 

Transferring user preferences to a new version

Issue

You want to know how to transfer your UserPrefs folder to a new version of Alias.

 

Solution

Typically, the UserPrefs folder is the location that stores all the preferences that you set in Alias. For example, Marking Menus, Hotkeys and Shelves are included in this UserPrefs folder.

When you install a newer version of Alias, upon the first Alias program launch, a menu will display, giving you the option to copy preferences from an older version. You may also choose to create a new UserPrefs. However, if you're installing Alias on a different machine, the preferences must be copied over.

To copy the preferences correctly, please be sure that you're able to view hidden files and folders from within Windows. To accomplish this, please do the following:

  1. In Windows, click on My Computer.
  2. Click on Tools and then Folder Options.
  3. Click on the View tab and then scroll down to Show Hidden Files and Folders. Be sure to click within the circle to activate the option.

Now, you're ready to copy your preferences.

  1. In Windows, click on My Computer.
  2. On your c:\ drive, navigate to, C:\Documents and Settings\YourUserID\Application Data\Autodesk\AliasStudio.This is the location of your UserPrefs2009 folder. These are the preferences for Alias 2009. Other preferences will be located in this location as well. For example, UserPrefs2008, etc.
  3. Copy this folder to a flash drive or other external device to transfer to your new machine.

After copying the folder to your new machine, you'll want to place it in the same location on the new machine. For example, C:\Documents and Settings\YourUserID\Application Data\Autodesk\AliasStudio.

After installation of Alias 2010, when you launch the product, you'll be prompted to copy over your preferences. You may select Copy for this to be completed.

You should now have your previous Marking Menus, Shelves, etc.

 

If you are experiencing problems please let me know.

 

Kind regards,

 

Rüdiger Ambs

Hello Donest,

 

To keep your settings from a 32 Alias 2012  to use them in Alias 2012 64bit version should not cause any issues.

Sorry for my first answer, I just wanted to make sure that you are copying the right settings.

 

If you are experiencing any problems let us know and we will give you further guidance.

 

Kind regards,

 

Rüdiger Ambs

Product Support
Ruediger-Ambs
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 2 of 14 (551 Views)

Re: copying prefs

10-26-2011 04:22 AM in reply to: donest

Hello donnest,

 

Please refer to the Article out of the Alias Knowledge Base.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13645058&linkID=12268768

 

Transferring user preferences to a new version

Issue

You want to know how to transfer your UserPrefs folder to a new version of Alias.

 

Solution

Typically, the UserPrefs folder is the location that stores all the preferences that you set in Alias. For example, Marking Menus, Hotkeys and Shelves are included in this UserPrefs folder.

When you install a newer version of Alias, upon the first Alias program launch, a menu will display, giving you the option to copy preferences from an older version. You may also choose to create a new UserPrefs. However, if you're installing Alias on a different machine, the preferences must be copied over.

To copy the preferences correctly, please be sure that you're able to view hidden files and folders from within Windows. To accomplish this, please do the following:

  1. In Windows, click on My Computer.
  2. Click on Tools and then Folder Options.
  3. Click on the View tab and then scroll down to Show Hidden Files and Folders. Be sure to click within the circle to activate the option.

Now, you're ready to copy your preferences.

  1. In Windows, click on My Computer.
  2. On your c:\ drive, navigate to, C:\Documents and Settings\YourUserID\Application Data\Autodesk\AliasStudio.This is the location of your UserPrefs2009 folder. These are the preferences for Alias 2009. Other preferences will be located in this location as well. For example, UserPrefs2008, etc.
  3. Copy this folder to a flash drive or other external device to transfer to your new machine.

After copying the folder to your new machine, you'll want to place it in the same location on the new machine. For example, C:\Documents and Settings\YourUserID\Application Data\Autodesk\AliasStudio.

After installation of Alias 2010, when you launch the product, you'll be prompted to copy over your preferences. You may select Copy for this to be completed.

You should now have your previous Marking Menus, Shelves, etc.

 

If you are experiencing problems please let me know.

 

Kind regards,

 

Rüdiger Ambs



Ruediger Ambs
Senior Product Support Specialist
WWSS-GS-Premium Support MFG West
Autodesk, Inc.



Distinguished Contributor
donest
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 3 of 14 (547 Views)

Re: copying prefs

10-26-2011 07:50 AM in reply to: Ruediger-Ambs

Wow! Such a lengthy reply to a simple question!

1) I KNOW how to copy my prefs and where to put them

2) The question was...will my preferences (created in a 32 bit version of Surface Studio 2012) work when copied over to the fresh install of a 64 bit version of Surface Studio 2012?

I didn't want to just copy them if there was a possibility they would mess things up or I would have to reinstall Surface Studio.

Distinguished Contributor
donest
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 4 of 14 (541 Views)

Re: copying prefs

10-26-2011 07:55 AM in reply to: donest

Win7 is an entirely new OS (not an upgrade), so there are no files left on my computer from XP Pro. Surface Studio therefore did not find any old prefs (they were copied to a server) so did not ask.

Product Support
Ruediger-Ambs
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 5 of 14 (539 Views)

Re: copying prefs

10-26-2011 08:08 AM in reply to: donest

Hello Donest,

 

To keep your settings from a 32 Alias 2012  to use them in Alias 2012 64bit version should not cause any issues.

Sorry for my first answer, I just wanted to make sure that you are copying the right settings.

 

If you are experiencing any problems let us know and we will give you further guidance.

 

Kind regards,

 

Rüdiger Ambs



Ruediger Ambs
Senior Product Support Specialist
WWSS-GS-Premium Support MFG West
Autodesk, Inc.



Valued Contributor
sahilchopra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 6 of 14 (507 Views)

Re: copying prefs

12-22-2011 10:01 PM in reply to: Ruediger-Ambs

Hi,

 

I am trying to take my Hotkey from Surface 2012 to Automotive 2012.

I saved user preferences from Surface and loaded them up in Automotive. Only my shleves get updated not the Hotkey.

 

But I need to transfer my Hotkey also. Please advice.

 

Thanks,

Sahil.

Product Support
Ruediger-Ambs
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 7 of 14 (502 Views)

Re: copying prefs

12-23-2011 01:05 AM in reply to: sahilchopra

Hi,

 

there are different places where to save the settings. You can try to save a preferences set like shown in the image.

Most of the settings are getting saved in here (see second image)

 

Please let me know if this solves your issue.

 

Cheers



Ruediger Ambs
Senior Product Support Specialist
WWSS-GS-Premium Support MFG West
Autodesk, Inc.



Valued Contributor
sahilchopra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 8 of 14 (494 Views)

Re: copying prefs

12-23-2011 02:34 AM in reply to: Ruediger-Ambs

Thanks for the quick response Ruediger.

This is exactly what I am doing, but no joy.

 

I save out a .APS file and then load that same file into Automotive 2012 (Preference > User Preference > Load Preference Set). With all the options checked, as you have shown in the second image. And it loads up my shelves from Surface 2012 but not my Hotkeys.

 

Is there anything else I could do to solve this issue? I dont want to manually assign hotkeys again, there are too many of them.

 

Is it possible to make this process automated in Alias 2013? 

All the preferences autmotically stay updated between Surface, Autotive and Design?

 

Regards.

Product Support
Ruediger-Ambs
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 9 of 14 (492 Views)

Re: copying prefs

12-23-2011 02:55 AM in reply to: sahilchopra

Hello,

 

the hotkeys of each product are different, thats the reason why they are not getting loaded directly.

If you go to the folder C:\Users\__USER___\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Alias\UserPrefs2012

you will find the files

1. AutoStudio_AliasHotkeys.scm

2.Automotive_aliasHotkeys.scm

You can try this:

1. rename the Automotive_aliasHotkeys.scm to Automotive_aliasHotkeys_original.scm

2. copy the AutoStudio_AliasHotkeys.scm and rename it to Automotive_aliasHotkeys.scm

 

I never did this, so I'm not sure if this will work, but I think it is woth a try.

 

cheers

 



Ruediger Ambs
Senior Product Support Specialist
WWSS-GS-Premium Support MFG West
Autodesk, Inc.



Valued Contributor
sahilchopra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 10 of 14 (490 Views)

Re: copying prefs

12-23-2011 03:41 AM in reply to: Ruediger-Ambs

I guess you are asking me to make a copy of Surface_AliasHotkeys.scm and rename it to Automotive_AliasHotkeys.scm. I tried that. Doesnt work.

 

I even opened the Surface_AliasHotkeys.scm in notepad, copied everything into Automotive_AliasHotkeys.scm, and saved the notepad file. The file gets saved, no problem, but hotkeys dont get updated in Automotive.

 

And when I restart Automotive, the hotkeys are still not updated, but also the text in Automotive_AliasHotkeys.scm reverts back to exactly what is was before. I guess which means that everytime I restart Automotive it overwrites that .scm file and brings it back to the default state.

 

I can't think of anything else :smileyhappy:

We got quite a few designers switching between Surface and Automotive here. Would be nice to have hotkeys migrating between appications seamlessly.

 

Let me know if you could think of something else.

Thanks for you prompt help. Appreciate it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!