Alias General Discussion

Alias General Discussion

Reply
New Member
jimjimto
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 1 of 4 (156 Views)

Alias for Mac is good enough for Pro E file's, and for rendering

156 Views, 3 Replies
09-04-2012 01:28 AM

Dear All,

 

I am new to join this forum. My new company need to do some rendering, which based on Pro-E files. My boss ask me to do the research for MAC's 3D appliaction, I like to know Alias is OK for this purpose??

 

I am usung iMac, thanks for you pay attention

Jimmy

*Expert Elite*
cekuhnen
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
Message 2 of 4 (149 Views)

Re: Alias for Mac is good enough for Pro E file's, and for rendering

09-04-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: jimjimto

If you need to do renderings I would not usa Alias just for that.

 

First Alias cannot export OBJ files with UV coordinates which are must for correct texture mapping.

 

 

Rather I would go and use Blender with their new interactive render engine called Cycles which is on the same professional level like Keyshot. Blender how ever is open source and free.

 

I have multiple commercial render engines but caught myself in the recent time just simply using Blender. It is more flexible and also as dramatically good animation tools. Good for product renderings.

New Member
jimjimto
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 3 of 4 (143 Views)

Re: Alias for Mac is good enough for Pro E file's, and for rendering

09-04-2012 08:47 PM in reply to: cekuhnen

thanks for suggestion, I will try the Blender

*Expert Elite*
cekuhnen
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
Message 4 of 4 (141 Views)

Re: Alias for Mac is good enough for Pro E file's, and for rendering

09-04-2012 09:01 PM in reply to: jimjimto

feel free to try it - it is free, so no lost investment.

 

the user forum can be found at www.blenderartists.com and in youtube or cgcookie there are many tutorials to watch.

maybe this might be useful.

 

 

if you want to check out my in progress coroflot portoflio. you can see some product renderings there done with it.

http://www.coroflot.com/cekuhnen

it might give you a good idea about the quality you can achive.

 

claas

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.