Advance Steel Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Advance Steel Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Advance Steel topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portal Frame - Haunch at eaves

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
ROCKO86
3269 Views, 10 Replies

Portal Frame - Haunch at eaves

Hi guys!

I need to do the following joins as seen on the attachments (portal_joint.JPG). It is like an apex haunch but at the eaves. Please note that the column is an IPE360 and the rafter is an IPE300, so they are not equivalent.

What I did:

I created the portal, used the Apex haunch intelligent join, but the result was not satisfying (see myresult.JPG). Because of the two beams are not the same, cutting edges (so the angles of the two end plates) are not right for me.

How can I create a join which is on the first attachment? (I am a beginner in this software, so sorry if the answer is obvious.)

Thanks in advance!

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
muleman1
in reply to: ROCKO86

Rock, we are far from experts ourselves, but watch this sceencast, we think it will get you going in the right direction. http://autode.sk/1vCwLo7 

Once you get your first frame as close as you can with the macro, you may have to explode the frame and tweak little things as needed. Then when you get it just right you can copy as many as you need.

Good luck, it a powerful software, but it is far from intuitive......and there is no help, other than this forum and youtube (that we have found).

....How easy it is to acquire knowledge, yet how difficult and painstaking is the process of gaining wisdom. .... Chuck Swindoll
Message 3 of 11
ROCKO86
in reply to: muleman1

Hey, thanks for fast response and for the video either.