Wiretap

Reply
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 1 of 18 (208 Views)

Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

208 Views, 17 Replies
03-05-2007 08:07 PM
SGI Flame 9.5.13.
When running the FAT tools in the latest API beta it is unable to see this machine. The old PPC only tools work fine. I have tested this at multiple sites.

Current API
milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api/tools/Mac/OSX/wiretap_server_dump -v
Failed to acquire server list from interface 192.168.1.2 : Unknown host 'flame'
Error acquiring the number of nodes: Failed to acquire a server list from any interfaces

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api/tools/Mac/OSX/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.3
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.1.3' successful.


Beta API

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_server_dump -v
Unable to acquire the server list: Device not configured

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.3
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.1.3' failed: Device not configured.
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 2 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-06-2007 12:29 PM in reply to: alatteri
Hi Alan,

We added some support for IPv6 in the beta. Can you try it with the hostname instead of the IP?

Aside, I'm assuming it works with beta 2007.1 servers, right?

Dan
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 3 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-06-2007 01:04 PM in reply to: alatteri
I will try this: but it is not a viable workaround as that would require either an internal DNS server or an entry in the client hosts file, neither of which is friendly or double click usable. yes, 2007 is fine.
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 4 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-06-2007 02:04 PM in reply to: alatteri
Hi Alan,

The hostname fix is one workaround. Another is to use the new syntax as follows:

wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.1:7549

This targets the port number and bypasses a new bit of code added to handle the case where multipl eservers are present on a single host.

Aside, I find it odd that you're nding up with IP addresses via multi-cast for 1.7 servers. 1.7 servers only know how to broadcast their hostnames. Are you specifying the IPs manually, or are you using what is provided by the server list?

This problem actually exists on all platforms. A fix should be available in the final release due out shortly.

Dan
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 5 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-16-2007 02:50 PM in reply to: alatteri
Not working either.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.100.50:7549
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.100.50:7549' failed: Operation timed out.
milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.100.50
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.100.50' failed: Host is down..
milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink.quicktime/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_server_dump
WireTap Servers Storage ID Plug-In
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 6 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-16-2007 02:51 PM in reply to: alatteri
sw_wiretap_ping on the SGI reports successful.
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 7 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-16-2007 03:07 PM in reply to: alatteri
forget that, it worked. crappy SGI just needed a reboot.
Distinguished Contributor
dlabute
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 8 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

03-16-2007 03:46 PM in reply to: alatteri
Good.

This is all fixed in the release version (2007.1) coming soon, so no workaroung necessary.
Valued Contributor
alatteri
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 9 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-12-2007 08:06 PM in reply to: alatteri
Hey, so i am still having an issue with the release SDK.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_server_dump
WireTap Servers Storage ID Plug-In
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
discreet 192.168.1.55 IFFFS-55 Autodesk IFFFS 2007.0.0
flame flame Discreet IFFFS @ mprel - Product_2766 1.7.0

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_resolve_storage_id -s flame
flame

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Documents/Code/shrink/wiretap/api-beta/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.3
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.1.3' failed: Device not configured. Message was edited by: alatteri
Distinguished Contributor
dlabute
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 10 of 18 (208 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-12-2007 08:25 PM in reply to: alatteri
Hi Alan,

This is a bit surprising. We'll double-check in the AM, but you might want to make sure you're actually using the latest SDK. I know, it's like asking to make sure you're computer is pluggged-in. :smileyhappy:

BTW, all WT developers should have a way to show the API version and build number in their products. This will help us troubleshoot problems seen in the field when customers call our support line.

You might also want to try to download the official version from ADN.

Dan

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community