Wiretap

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 11 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-12-2007 08:35 PM in reply to: alatteri
Yeah, those were the release tools, just didnt update our code yet so i overwrote the old API. Anyway, i tried again directly from a fresh download. Same result.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretapapi-sw20071-1038/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_server_dump
WireTap Servers Storage ID Plug-In
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
discreet 192.168.1.55 IFFFS-55 Autodesk IFFFS 2007.0.0
flame flame Discreet IFFFS @ mprel - Product_2766 1.7.0

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretapapi-sw20071-1038/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_resolve_storage_id -s flame
flame

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretapapi-sw20071-1038/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.3
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.1.3' failed: Device not configured.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretapapi-sw20071-1038/tools/MACOSX/fat/Darwin_8_3_0/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.1.3:7549
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.1.3:7549' successful.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ ping 192.168.1.3
PING 192.168.1.3 (192.168.1.3): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=0 ttl=255 time=0.914 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=0.958 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.3 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 0.914/0.936/0.958/0.022 ms
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 12 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-12-2007 08:37 PM in reply to: alatteri
I'm assuming that hard-coding ":7549" still works as a workaround, right?
Valued Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 13 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-12-2007 08:40 PM in reply to: alatteri
yeah.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 14 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-13-2007 07:07 AM in reply to: alatteri
Hi Alan,

We definitely can reproduce the bug in house with an older version, and it's definitely fixed in the new version. At this point, I suspect that you don't have the most recent version.

Can you please verify the name of the SDK file, as well as the contents of the WIRETAP_VERSION and PRODUCT_NUMBER files included in the SDK.

Can you also send me the link from which you downloaded the SDK from ADN? The one below seems to have an old version:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=7478536

Dan
Valued Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 15 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-13-2007 09:00 AM in reply to: alatteri
I was using a fresh download from the link that Craig Dean provided in his ADN email.

http://adnsparks.autodesk.com/adn/servlet/index?siteID=6681818&id=745120
2&linkID=6928614

Also tried the specific wiretap_ping binary you sent me via email too.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 16 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-13-2007 09:59 AM in reply to: alatteri
I just tried it again at another facility also using SGI Flame 9.5, same result.
Only works when I append the port number. Again, using the wiretap_ping binary you sent me via email.


milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.10.56
Ping to WireTap host '192.168.10.56' failed: Device not configured.

milky-way:~ alatteri$ /Users/alatteri/Desktop/wiretap_ping -h 192.168.10.56:7549Ping to WireTap host '192.168.10.56:7549' successful.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 17 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-16-2007 05:03 AM in reply to: alatteri
Now that we established that the version posted has the fix in question after all, we just need to figure out why this particular case is still problematic.

My thinking is that it's a plain old multi-cast issue. The simple steps to troubleshoot are to make sure multi-cast is enabled on the target network by pinging 224.0.0.1 as is is outlined in the FAQ. Most routers do not turn on multicast by default.

FYI, the difference between the old and new APIs is that we now always peform a multi-cast when the port number is not specified. The port number was added to the address in v2007.1 to support multiple WT servers on a given host.

Cheers,

Dan
Valued Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 18 of 18 (219 Views)

Re: Mac API beta not seeing Wiretap 1.7

04-25-2007 01:04 PM in reply to: alatteri
I forgot where we left off with this prior to NAB. My opinion, is that what used to work, got broken in API 2007.1 providing me customers with a less appealing solution. As a recap, Wiretap 1.7 servers are not auto-discovered unless Internal DNS is running, which most places do not have. I have tested the networks and it is fine, multi-cast pings properly, and Wiretap 2007 servers are auto-discovered as expected.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community