Wiretap

Reply
Member
methodhai
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2007
Message 1 of 7 (384 Views)

Clip node creation

384 Views, 6 Replies
08-10-2007 01:13 PM
I seem to be having some problems creating a CLIP_HIRES and a CLIP_LOWRES underneath my CLIP node. I tried calling createClipNode using the resulting node from the creation of the "CLIP" node to use for CLIP_HIRES and it seems to fail.

Is there are a particular way to do this?

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
dlabute
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 2 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:07 PM in reply to: methodhai
Hi,

A CLIP node is a container for high/low res video nodes and audio stream nodes. Creating a clip will automatically create the high and low resolution clip nodes using the clip format specified and the rules set up in the project in which the clip is created.

For example, creating a 2K 10 bit CLIP node in a project with 50% proxies will create the parent CLIP node, a 2K 10 bit high res clip, and a 1K 10 bit low res (proxy) clip, both of the same length. The parent CLIP will act like the highest resolution clip available.

In your case, once the CLIP is created and the number of frames are set, just drill down into the clip's children and access the high/low res clip you want. Run wiretap_print_tree on the newly created node to see what I mean.

Hope this helps,

Dan
Member
methodhai
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2007
Message 3 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:10 PM in reply to: methodhai
Hi Dan,

Thanks for the response. What I am curious about - is after I create the CLIP node - can I write frames to the CLIP_HIRES and CLIP_LOWRES or do I write the frames to the CLIP node itself?

What's happening is that when I write the frames to the CLIP node - our Flame system has generate the proxies before the artist can see them as a clip. I was hoping to di this from my code and not take up the artist's time.

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
dlabute
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 4 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:19 PM in reply to: methodhai
Your choice. The parent CLIP acts like the HIRES, so you can write to it ... or you can target the child nodes. The parent CLIP lets you access metadata for each of the children as well.

As for writing the proxies, you are indeed correct that the WT client should write them. You can either generate them from the HIRES images you're sending, or trigger a background proxy generation using the bg IO tool.

As a side note, you may or may not have noticed that the flame artisit can work with clips WHILE they're being written via Wiretap. This is especially relevant for Smoke and long form.

Cheers,

Dan
Member
methodhai
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2007
Message 5 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:23 PM in reply to: methodhai
Just to clarify - that means I CAN NOT write frames to the CLIP_LOWRES node , correct?

I have some image scaling code that I can easily use to scale the image data and just write them to the CLIP_LOWRES if possible
Distinguished Contributor
dlabute
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎05-11-2004
Message 6 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:41 PM in reply to: methodhai
You CAN. You have the choice when writing/accessing hires. In the case of proxies, you must go through the low res node.
Member
methodhai
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-21-2007
Message 7 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Clip node creation

08-10-2007 06:43 PM in reply to: methodhai
Excellent, I will give this a shot!

Thanks for all your help, Dan!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community